The other meditators - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

November 13, 2016

The other meditators

Some statistics:

120 students

80 female / 40 male

15 foreigners

Of the males, 4 are monks.

Of the females, 5 are nuns.

Of the female foreigners, 3 of us are white. The others (4, I believe) are Asian, but not from Thailand.

The other 2 white women are 2 friends who live in Hawaii. One of them, Bettina, is originally German. Satya is American. They are both experienced meditators. Bettina has previously attended a Vipassana course, so she is an "old student". Satya is new, despite having studied and practiced other styles of meditation. One of the reasons they've chosen this course and this center, is that Bettina's mother lives part time in Chiang Mai.

Both Bettina and Satya wear long, flowy Indian style clothing throughout the course. I wear American outdoorsy clothes, 2 sets which I wear for a couple of days each and then wash. Its really hot, and I perspire profusely and wonder if my clothes are smelly. The Thai women wear a variety of types of clothing, generally either light colored or black. At the end, I asked about a lavender colored outfit many women have. My question wasn't easily understood. I'm told that they see it as white, and it is sold in shops as a simple outfit for meditation, so you don't need to think about what to wear.

I spend some time talking with Amy, from Singapore. She was in the room next to me, and we sat elbow to elbow at meals without talking. This is her second Vipassana course, and she volunteered as a Dhamma Helper at another one.

About half of the students are "old" or returning students. After we break silence, one woman tells me she has attended 8 of these 10 day courses, and a 45 day course in India! She doesn't look that old. Most of the new students have experience in other types of meditation. I seem to be the newest newbie in the group.

I get contact information from a couple of other students. A woman in Chiang Rai has an American exchange student living with her, and wants me to come and talk with her about attending the course.

I tried to get some pictures, but should have done it before I went to get my bike.

Pap is one of the nuns, and lives in Chiang Mai. She won't be going back for a number of days, so I probably won't see her there.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0