Phon Phisai to resort near Ban Hokham - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

December 14, 2016

Phon Phisai to resort near Ban Hokham

Staying off the highway (mostly) for a nice day of riding

I left Phon Phisai on highway 212 and immediately ran into road construction. My two mapping tools, maps.me and Google maps were not consistent in where they showed alternative roads that were continuous along the Mekong. I took a chance, and dove off of the highway down to the riverside walkway, hoping it would take me a good way along the river. The walkway petered out before long

Heart 0 Comment 0

and then sprang back to life before stopping abruptly where a small tributary joined the river.

The walkway by the river ended abruptly.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I back tracked just enough to make a connection back to the highway, where the construction made some difficult riding.

Road construction along the 212. They're making it into a divided highway.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then, where Google maps showed a road going down to the river that would eventually connect, I got off of the highway. The road went through some farmland, and seemed quite peaceful and remote. I quickly reached an area were there were big machines digging sand, and a man motioned for me to take the path above the digging.

Rural roads through farmland. Sometimes dirt, sometimes concrete.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I ended up on a very small road, maybe more of a path. But it was the road shown on Google maps, and I followed it through the farms, sometimes hearing Thai music playing softly.

Sometimes the road is more of a path.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I popped out onto a paved road and picked up a little speed.

Even small towns along these back roads have nice wats.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I eventually had to rejoin highway 212, and was thrilled to find it was a nice, freshly paved divided highway! It occasionally had sections still under construction, but for the most part was smooth and fast. After a while traffic got heavy, and I decided to head off to another road along the Mekong. The connecting road had very little traffic, and no towns or businesses for about 5 km until it reached the river road. Then the river road was busy with towns, but not so much with traffic.

It had become hot. My Garmin read 103 F. I stopped at a small shop where I spotted a refrigerator, looking for a cold drink. The owner tried very hard to sell me a small can of coffee. I wanted more volume and more refreshing, and found a bottle of coconut flavored soda in the fridge. It hit the spot!

I went on along the river road. I had planned to stop at A Hong, where there is a wat with a hostel. I was thinking I should stop and get out some pants to cover my knees (you know, being culturally sensitive and all that) when I saw a sign for Wang Kham Riverview Resort. I stopped and checked it out. My only concern was that I needed food. I was told I could have chicken for dinner at 7 pm. It's a little late for me, but I decided to go for it. With the heat, I took an air-conditioned bungalow for 400 baht. It got overcast and has cooled off nicely, so I probably don't need the AC, but I was glad to have it this afternoon

My bungalow.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view from the Wang Kham Resort. The hills on the other side of the Mekong, and are in Laos.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 78 km (48 miles)
Total: 1,532 km (951 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0