Lazy Island Days: Two days on Ko Mak - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

January 10, 2017 to January 11, 2017

Lazy Island Days: Two days on Ko Mak

I moved to the Ko Mak Riverside today. I arrived about 10, and had to wait for my room. It's a step up in accommodation, AC, fridge, and all the perks. It's owned by a Swiss guy, and isn't quite as friendly and welcoming as I've grown accustomed to on this trip. As the name suggests, it's not directly on the beach, but it's only a couple of minutes walking. It's close to the center of activity on the island, so there are lots of options for food and drink, and even a couple of small shops nearby.

However, I rode back over to the other side of the island for lunch today. I went to Ko Mak Seafood, and had a steamed egg dish with mixed seafood. It was delicious! The restaurant is one of the oldest here, and had a museum on site. The museum wasn't too interesting, but the old building it is in was. Also interesting is that this old restaurant is supporting sustainability, has solar electricity and fast internet. Most places have free WiFi these days, which is a great convenience, but (like yesterday's lodging) the signal can be weak and the service slow.

The pier where I arrived yesterday.
Heart 1 Comment 0
On my last tour, I took pictures of my feet in the Aegean Sea. Here they are in the Gulf of Thailand.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Ko Mak Seafood Restaurant, site of today's lunch.
Heart 0 Comment 0
From the viewpoint at Thaidaho Resort. This is looking north.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tonight's sunset, from the speedboat pier.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Wednesday, January 11

Today I did exactly what you're supposed to do on a tropical island. Absolutely nothing.

My accommodation.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My bungalow. The inside is in better shape than the outside, but the front porch gets full sun in the afternoon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It rained last night, and may again tonight. I'm taking the boat back to the mainland in the morning, and have been told it might switch piers due to the wind.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 12 km (7 miles)
Total: 2,484 km (1,543 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0