Countdown: Miscellaneous ramblings - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

October 19, 2016

Countdown: Miscellaneous ramblings

I just learned that the King of Thailand, Bhumibol Adulyade, has passed away. Thailand is in a period of mourning. According to the newspapers, it is business as usual and should not impact tourism, other than a recommendation to not wear brightly colored clothes. Some entertainment venues are closing early, but I'm not much of a night time partier. It also sounds like the key to culturally sensitive behavior is simply to be respectful. Political upheaval is unlikely. Crown Prince Maha Vajiralongkorn will succeed his father. He doesn't appear to have as much love and respect from the Thai people, so there may be some longer term challenges for the country.

Meanwhile, I'm looking after all of my last minute chores.

Getting things set up for the health care open enrollment hasn't been going too well. I'm set up with a broker, who will help me out during the open enrollment period that starts November 1 while I'll be traveling. But in the meantime, trying to make sure all the data is correct on ConnectforHealthCO.com hasn't worked. I called their help line, and (in response to my particular problem) was told it was a "technical difficulty". I could have told them that! They suggested doing 2 sections separately and then calling them back on the phone to have them linked. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that it works, and right now waiting for a call back from the broker to see if he thinks that's reasonable.

The fall weather is great, although it has been really windy. Some days are warm and others cool, but regardless, the riding has been wonderful.

Gorgeous day in Cheyenne Canyon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The deer are enjoying the weather, too, but wouldn't smile for the camera.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a couple of last minute purchases for the trip. Why does travel always involve buying things? Is it a character flaw? I bought a reflective vest, really intended for running, but suitable for wear over any top without adding warmth. It's called a Xinglet. And a new watch. I was going to use my old Timex digital watch, but the band broke. I super glued it together, but am not too confident of the longevity. I like having the time on my wrist, so replaced it with another Timex digital watch. The new one has a bright green band, in keeping with the visibility theme.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0