Bangkok - A Loop around Southeast Asia - CycleBlaze

October 25, 2016

Bangkok

I didn't sleep very well my first night. I was awake at 3 a.m., and got out of bed at 4. I had the hotel breakfast at 8, and then talked with the hotel reception about booking a taxi into town, to Granny Bike.Bed hostel. I was warned it would be difficult, that traffic was jammed up due to road closures as part of the remembrance of the King. Then I was offered a fare of TB500. I asked if it would be metered, and was told "no, no driver will take a metered fare into the city today" and was offered TB400. I took it, scheduled the taxi for 11 am, and went off to explore the area around the hotel.

My first Wat of the trip. This is Wat Lat Krabang, near last night's hotel.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It didn't take long before I was dripping with sweat again. I stopped and bought an iced coffee. I had forgotten that Thai coffee is really sweet! After I got the coffee I went back to the hotel and took another shower. I passed some time and checked out and found the taxi was already waiting, a few minutes early.

The drive to the hostel wasn't bad. Traffic was backed up at the toll plazas, but I don't think that was due to the road closures is been warned about. The biggest problem was that the taxi driver went around the block three times before he acknowledged that the hostel was really where it was, and dropped me abruptly on the wrong side of the street. I ran my bike across the traffic to the other side. I went back for my other bag, and found a woman, dressed in heels and wearing black, was trying to help with the bag. We got it across, and she disappeared.

It took me a little while banging on the door to rouse someone at the hostel. When someone answered, I found out that there are 3 female cyclists already here. I've had some good conversations and some advice already! Another couple showed up later, finishing their tour from Singapore here. They have a week in Bangkok before flying to a possible new home in the Netherlands.

I put my bike together, but still need to do final adjustments and make sure the bolts are all tight. The shifting is off, the same problem I've had in the past. With the gear mechanism in gear 1, I need to set the shifter to gear 6 for the cable quick connects to reach. Right now I'm too sleepy to sort it out.

Wednesday, 10/26.

I went off this morning to find the Thai Travel Clinic and get some immunizations. The advice had been not to use public transportation, but to bike there. Since I hadn't finished up getting my bike ready, I decided to walk the 8 km and get a good look at Bangkok. It wasn't a bad walk, but very hot, and a couple of people stopped me to talk. I thought I had left plenty of time, but arrived exactly at my scheduled appointment at 11:00. I got the Japanese Encephalitis immunization. I was told that since I had a prophylactic rabies series, albeit 20 years ago, the treatment if I am bit by a dog would be the same with or without a booster, so the booster wasn't recommended.

I decided to take a taxi back to the hostel, but couldn't get one to take me! There were some events today in honor of the king, and the taxis would not go into the central area because of the extra congestion. I ended up walking back. It was hot and humid, and I took frequent refuge in the 7-11's that are found about every block. They have air conditioning as well as cold drinks. As I hot close to the center, near the Independence Monument, there was something going on, and an organization handing out free water and another drink, which I gratefully accepted.

Back at the hostel, I found out that Parn, one of the hostel owners, a bike shop owner and mechanic, had looked at my bike last night. I could have ridden it! It sounds like when I thought I put the hub in gear one, it was really in 7, perhaps hung up a little bit at the Rohloff 7/8 transition. I hadn't applied much force, so I guess I shouldn't be too surprised. I still need to double check all the bolts and attach my racks.

The group from the hostel had dinner together, courtesy of the hostel, in celebration of someone's birthday. It was a good meal, and I ate too much.

And, oh, did it rain! Fortunately I had just arrived back at the hostel when the sky let loose. It was incredibly loud, and water pooled in the streets. It rained again while we were out at dinner, but not so hard. This is the tail end of the rainy season, but I'm told I may see some more short downpours like the one today.

Thursday, 10/27.

Self-service washing machine down an alley near the hostel. 20 baht for a small load.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Drinking water dispenser. I'm told these are common throughout SE Asia. I'll leave my water filter with my bike case in Bangkok.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A collection of guests' touring bikes at the hostel. Mine is in there.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The common room at the hostel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0