04/19/24 Choluteca - south - CycleBlaze

April 19, 2024

04/19/24 Choluteca

Heart 0 Comment 0

I considered leaving San Lorenzo yesterday, but didn’t really feel like it and when I found it raining at 5 am I took that as a sign and went back to bed.  That set the pace for the rest of the day. I went out for coffee in the morning and chinese food in the afternoon and spent the rest of the time doing nothing. I wasn’t feeling exactly top notch this morning either, but I was itching to move and only had a short 20 miles to Choluteca. And here I am. 

Bike lanes entering and exiting San Lorenzo
Heart 0 Comment 0
I enjoy the early morning riding
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Share the road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Breakfast was roadside papaya. Ripe, but warm
Heart 0 Comment 0
About 5 miles from my destination I passed this pleasant spot
Heart 1 Comment 0
I spent over an hour here, drinking ice water and coffee
Heart 0 Comment 0
and swinging in the breeze
Heart 0 Comment 0
The owner kept an interesting collection of poultry
Heart 0 Comment 0
Something ingneous
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltCorrect! Columnar basalt.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Basalt#Columnar_basalt
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Never far from someone living on the side of the road
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
First I’ve managed to photograph
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltPossibly a green iguana. Color looks pale in this individual but color varies from bright green through brown, orange and gray.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/35341-Iguana/browse_photos?place_id=6929
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
There’s always a hammock
Heart 0 Comment 0
Today’s look. Normal litter level
Heart 0 Comment 0
With all my dilly dallying I didn’t get to Choluteca until almost noon
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pleasant entrance
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fruit stand in the shade. Still sells warm fruit
Heart 0 Comment 0
Children selling tortillas. There are always tortillas available
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking parched, everyone is waiting for the rains to come (except me)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Flamboyant trees
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltPossibly African tulip tree.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/126566-Spathodea-campanulata
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yes, please!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Blue Bird Bus culture extends into Honduras as well
Heart 0 Comment 0
Colorful Catholicism
Heart 0 Comment 0
Typical security
Heart 0 Comment 0
Seen better days. And so many overhead wires
Heart 0 Comment 0
This type of tile roof is common. As is the crazy cabling
Heart 0 Comment 0
I stopped here in a vain attempt to score a popsicle
Heart 0 Comment 0
Inside I found SuperMax security but no frozen treats
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’m finding it all very tropical
Heart 0 Comment 0
Found ice cream in the park. I was approached by a friendly cop, curious about my trip. It was an interesting conversation and had just started to get philosophical when he was called away
Heart 0 Comment 0
Psychological exams for firearms permits. Driver license testing as well
Heart 0 Comment 0
Attempting to photograph the hospital, an interesting building to my eye
Heart 0 Comment 0
A street market crowds the entrance, a mildly chaotic place with patients, buyers and sellers all mixing
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another attempt, poking my phone through the fence and worrying I’ll drop it
Heart 0 Comment 0
Used jeans for sale
Heart 0 Comment 0
I found the downtown area interesting to pass through but not relaxing and the hotels poor value
Heart 0 Comment 0
So I retreated to a fancy place on the edge of town. Calm and peaceful and under budget! In San Lorenzo I learned about the national senior discount (“descuento del tercer edad”) which is 30% across the board. Every business is required to give the discount to anyone over 60 but often they won’t if you don’t ask.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 25 miles (40 km)
Total: 3,588 miles (5,774 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0