04/13/24 Usulután - south - CycleBlaze

April 13, 2024

04/13/24 Usulután

Heart 0 Comment 0

Well, everything I wrote just poofed away in a Wi-Fi burp.  It was probably too long anyway. Here’s the short version. I went much further than I planned to because I’m picky about where I sleep. It’s hot in the lowlands but today it didn’t feel so bad because of wind. 

My morning view. I didn’t sleep deeply, the wind was fierce and mangoes would bang the roof
Heart 1 Comment 0
It was just me and the dogs at La Petite Chef last night. This fellow spent the night under my cot. He could be my dog
Heart 1 Comment 0
First breakfast was Nutella sandwiches and windfall mangoes. I picked up a few intact ones and they were perfectly ripe and absolutely delicious
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking at the Pacific coast in the distant haze
Heart 0 Comment 0
Conditions changed when I turned off the rim road to begin the descent. These kind of stretches were frequent
Heart 0 Comment 0
Big trees!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Wider view
Heart 2 Comment 0
According to PictureThis
Heart 0 Comment 0
heading down
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dropping
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rooster
Heart 1 Comment 0
Second breakfast was coffee and pupusas
Heart 1 Comment 0
After finishing my pupusas I thought I should try to get a picture of them being grilled. But by then the ladies were making these cheese filled corn things. They need salsa to be good
Heart 2 Comment 0
Down the road was the juice lady, and I had one of each of what she was selling. She completely approved of that decision. My favorite was the one being served in this picture, maranon (cashew fruit). It unleashed a tidal wave of core memories
Heart 1 Comment 0
It comes in plastic bags with a piece of ice and a straw. Pictured is carrot orange. I also had horchata and “sebada”, a clove, pepper, cinnamon, flour, and strawberry essence concoction
Heart 2 Comment 0
A bug I sawEdit: Bill has identified it as Turk's cap red bug
Heart 2 Comment 2
Karen PoretChanneling Mr. Shaneyfelt!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Bill ShaneyfeltAfter lengthy digging, I found a match! Turk's cap red bug.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/324205-Dysdercus-concinnus/browse_photos?place_id=7563
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Another rooster
Heart 0 Comment 0
colorful cemeteries
Heart 2 Comment 0
The general design of the road going down was flat sections done in concrete slabs and the grades in cobblestone. Mostly down but several up and I walked them all
Heart 0 Comment 0
down
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dogs chilling in the shade
Heart 1 Comment 0
A street in El Rosario that I liked
Heart 3 Comment 0
There was a stretch of road with wood shops selling furniture out front
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nice looking furniture
Heart 3 Comment 0
I sat here for quite a while, drinking milk shakes and letting my phone cool down. It stops working when it gets too hot.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rio Lempa
Heart 1 Comment 0
Firing the bricks
Heart 0 Comment 0
More single board tables. The owner told me the name of the wood but I pedaled it out of my head. Starts with “Z”. This table sells for $900, after finishing
Heart 2 Comment 1
My favorite time of day to be cycling
Heart 3 Comment 1
Karen PoretEspecially IF YOU get a “free wash”..:)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
I didn’t get a picture of the stretch of road where all that was sold was bananas. This guy was one of the outliers
Heart 1 Comment 0
Maranon. The seed at the bottom holds the cashew nut. It’s dried and roasted and the nut removed. I think the shells crack open during the roasting
Heart 2 Comment 0
I learned all that from this family who are staging their maranon harvest on the shoulder for bagging. They’ll be doing all the processing and selling the roasted nuts
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The last 90 minutes was in the dark. Not my favorite time to ride
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 3,459 miles (5,567 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0