04/14/24 San Miguel - south - CycleBlaze

April 14, 2024

04/14/24 San Miguel

I could have taken the road between Chinameca and San Miguel volcanoes, but it would involve steep climbs with little shade and I just couldn’t muster the enthusiasm
Heart 1 Comment 0

Not a whole lot to say about today. I got up early and rode to my next destination before it got too hot to move. A good day. 

a calm, early morning exit from Usulutan
Heart 1 Comment 0
Chinameca on the left, San Miguel on the right
Heart 3 Comment 0
Volcano and bananas. That’s clouds at the summit, not smoke
Heart 4 Comment 1
Karen PoretWonderful photo! The light is really exceptional!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Looking south
Heart 3 Comment 0
feeling tropical
Heart 3 Comment 0
$3 breakfast. The mom & pop owners reopened this place in January, after being closed for 10 years while they were living in New Jersey. They fled there after refusing to pay protection and getting on a hit list. The elimination of the gang problem is why most small business owners in El Salvador approve of the president. Getting rid of the gangs happened essentially overnight when anyone with a tattoo was immediately imprisoned
Heart 1 Comment 0
House covered with bottles
Heart 2 Comment 0
“jocote”, part of the cashew family
Heart 0 Comment 0
meh
Heart 1 Comment 0
This was a nice section
Heart 2 Comment 0
Food for thought
Heart 0 Comment 0
I ended up having three of these
Heart 2 Comment 2
Patrick O'HaraShaved ice? What is that?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
David ChavezLike a snow cone. Finely shaved ice flavored with lime juice, salt, honey. I decline the offer of chili, but it’s usually added as well
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
The San Miguel Walmart looks like a prison
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretWalmart is a “sort of”prison, if you really think about it..
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
I may come here later, I’ve lost my soap dish again
Heart 0 Comment 0
I got into San Miguel shortly after 11 am, just as the temperature was peaking
Heart 0 Comment 0
Found this $30 spot not far from the cool part of town (according to ChatGPT, my new travel advisor). I may or may not visit, it’s so hot I’m content to lounge and ingest cold things instead
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretThe numbers on the side of the building are interesting! The arrow is pointing to the 840, yet the 842 number arrow is pointed at 840..Huh?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Good A/C, good wifi and hot as hell outside. Nobody is on the streets and neither am I
Heart 1 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraI read that caption as a rap...
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
This is a first for me, free Koran’s being offered at a shoe store
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 3,491 miles (5,618 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0