04/12/24 La Petite Chef, Lake Ilopango - south - CycleBlaze

April 12, 2024

04/12/24 La Petite Chef, Lake Ilopango

Heart 0 Comment 0

Well today certainly turned out nice. I wasn’t expecting it to after getting woken up by wind, so strong that I for a second considered not going. But tomorrow’s no better and I was done with the city. My route took me up to the rim of the caldera overlooking Lake Ilopango and I was looking forward to a second breakfast with a view at the top. Those  hopes were dashed when I realized that nothing opened before noon so I had a peanut butter sandwich on the side of the road instead. Perfect timing, because immediately after resuming riding and rounded a bend there was Moses who had just past me and was waiting to invite me to stop at his place, La Petite Chef. I had a coffee and we chatted for a bit, then he had to get to work and suggested I relax in one of his hammocks. That was easy to accept after the tiring climb and took a little nap. It was so pleasant there, gardens and decks and trees and quiet (except for the mangoes falling onto the tin roofs. I had lazed for over an hour enjoying the space but conscious of the triple digit temperatures which were coming. So it wasn’t hard to say yes when Moses offered to let me throw my sleeping bag on the cot he keeps in a covered spot with a gorgeous view of the lake. 

And here I sit at 3,000 feet, all alone except for the dogs, cool and comfortable and glad to be here. 

Where I ended up versus where I intended
Heart 1 Comment 0
My avocado that fell from the sky the other day
Heart 1 Comment 0
More pedestrians than cars in the early morning
Heart 0 Comment 0
Plenty of food choices available, not yet 5 am
Heart 2 Comment 0
A protected bike lane appeared and lasted for a good ways
Heart 1 Comment 0
Riding a ridge with steep sides, glad I’m looking at this and not riding it
Heart 1 Comment 0
The stairs can be sealed off from the road if desired
Heart 0 Comment 0
The size of that tree!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I liked seeing this
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Only sideways bike selfies until I get my new kickstand
Heart 2 Comment 0
Pretty bamboo
Heart 1 Comment 0
Moses, my benefactor. A generous and interesting fellow, he’s got a lot of plates spinning. We talked quite a bit, while he kept the days bakery deliveries on track on his phone.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The grounds of the restaurant are lush and comfortable
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Many decks and patios from which to enjoy the view
Heart 2 Comment 0
I didn’t hesitate to accept his offer to spend the night in this loft
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
He started out with a bakery and used the proceeds to develop the property
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a very pleasant place to sit and do nothing
Heart 0 Comment 0
Airbnb cabin. He wants to eventually have 5 of these
Heart 2 Comment 0
I was offered lunch and my simple choice was rejected and I was given this instead
Heart 2 Comment 0
This bakery is “the cow I milk to do other things”
Heart 1 Comment 0
Restaurant seating all about. But only a few customers today. It’s the post Holy Week slow time
Heart 1 Comment 0
Entrance to the place
Heart 1 Comment 0
About six or so friendly rescues roam the grounds
Heart 0 Comment 0
I keep seeing antique typewriters as decoration. There are a few here too
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltThat one looks like the portable my mom had that I used to type term papers back in the 1960s... But not likely it works at all.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
including one in the john
Heart 1 Comment 0
More doggies
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lake Ilopango
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 17 miles (27 km)
Total: 3,397 miles (5,467 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0