04/11/24 errands - south - CycleBlaze

April 11, 2024

04/11/24 errands

It’s 3 pm as I write this sipping an original Czech Pilsner in the air conditioned comfort of the Beer Station in the supposedly hip Zona Rosa, feeling unimpressed with San Salvador but satisfied to have checked off my to do list. 

I found shoes in the Metro Centro mall (god that was a draining experience), nice to again have shoes without holes in them. 

I wrote to Co-Motion about my broken kick stand and they are sending a free replacement to my house. So that was nice.

I had a very satisfying conversation with Rodrigo at the the DHL office in Liberia, Costa Rica who confirmed it was possible to have a package sent there for me to collect when I get there (15-18 days I’m guessing). Rodrigo offered to work directly with my daughter on the paperwork to ensure it all goes smoothly. So that was extra nice. 

I finished my taxes, which is always nice. 

Finally, I spent a very long time working on routes to Costa Rica. That would be a lot easier if i didn’t insist on ending my day at a hotel instead of in my tent. And not just any hotel, a nice one with air conditioning. But, my bike ride, my rules. 

A big part of my lack of enthusiasm for San Salvador is that in order to get anywhere you either have to walk on busy streets or take a cab or public transport. The buses only cost a quarter but learning the system would take up time that could be better spent with beer, so I’ve been hoofing it in my new shoes and taking cabs. The cab was just to get from my side of town to the Zona Rosa which the Internet said was the cool part of town.   There are restaurants and bars to be sure, but not really in a walkable or otherwise interesting area.

What there is plenty of is high walled private homes with concertina wire and armed guards. Concertina wire, bars and guards. Everywhere.  My cab driver said before the crackdown it really was truly dangerous, now not so much so. Throw in the fact that it’s hot (90’s today) and noisy and I’m ready to take me and my new shoes out of here. 

No interesting pictures today because this is what it looked like
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dollar coins are the norm, paper $1 bills are used but rarely
Heart 0 Comment 0
Normal security
Heart 0 Comment 0
Normal security. Buy through the grill. I took this picture thinking no one was inside at the time, but I was spotted and the owner caught up to me in the street wanting to know what I was doing. I explained and she relaxed and said it was essential even now to have such security
Heart 0 Comment 0
One-legged man walking the stopped traffic for alms
Heart 0 Comment 0
While I’m drinking imported beer
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0