03/15/24 Macuspana - south - CycleBlaze

March 15, 2024

03/15/24 Macuspana

Heart 0 Comment 0

It’s less than 90 flat miles from Villahermosa to Palenque and three months into the tour that should be easily doable in one day. But the air here is so thick and viscous that moving requires much more motivation and effort than in other climes. Today was the hottest yet, reaching 100, and I had no problem quitting at the first, and only, town before Palenque. I rode the few miles off highway to get to Macuspana proper for dinner, but I’m staying at the motel next to the highway. Partly because it’s a lot nicer than anything in town, but also because it means I don’t have to start the day backtracking. 

I was in no hurry this morning, and found bike paths to the coffee houses
Heart 2 Comment 0
I had two of these, the best lattes I’ve had in a long time. Perfectly hot
Heart 3 Comment 0
There’s a nicely developed malecón along the riverfront
Heart 1 Comment 0
It seems new, these empty glass pavilions scream of incomplete planning
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Grijalva River flows from Guatemala to the Bay of Campeche
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was a busy, bustling morning as I made my way out of town
Heart 1 Comment 2
Karen PoretNo one looks happy! Is it the hot weather? Or?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
David ChavezIt’s true, I’ve noticed a patina of surliness ever since arriving on the coast. It’s only an illusion that goes away as soon as there is conversation, but there does seem to be a dearth of smiles. It’s not easy to smile when it’s 100 degrees and 100%
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
I took pictures
Heart 1 Comment 0
every time
Heart 2 Comment 0
I was
Heart 1 Comment 0
stopped
Heart 2 Comment 0
A failed dream almost fully consumed by the forest
Heart 0 Comment 0
The road today
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pretty
Heart 1 Comment 0
Howdy
Heart 2 Comment 0
Tricitaxis are the norm in Macuspana
Heart 1 Comment 0
Birds and bovines. The birds would never let me approach without flying off
Heart 0 Comment 0
The ice cream guy sped by with a nod
Heart 2 Comment 0
With my belly full of micheladas and a burger I found the ride back to the hotel pleasantly lazy
Heart 1 Comment 0
This fellow is sharing my space tonight
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like a banded peacock.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/54951-Anartia-fatima
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 2,750 miles (4,426 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0