03/16/24 Palenque - south - CycleBlaze

March 16, 2024

03/16/24 Palenque

Heart 0 Comment 0

It was another hot day, reaching 100. I passed into Chiapas without a welcome sign, or maybe I missed it while mindlessly spinning my pedals through the soup. I don’t have much memory from today, the heat just shuts everything down. 

I was planning on visiting the ruins in the morning, but I hear they are crowded on weekends. I think instead I’ll sleep in, walk to town and have lattes and figure out the deal with buses, leaving the ruins for Monday morning. I need to meet a package in Tuxtla Gutiérrez on Tuesday, I’m thinking it should be easy by bus. 

Carrying plastic bottles
Heart 1 Comment 0
ditto
Heart 1 Comment 0
Stopped here for breakfast
Heart 1 Comment 0
I drank the entire pitcher of watermelon juice
Heart 2 Comment 1
Karen PoretIronic seeing the Christmas theme table cloth and the color red watermelon juice :)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
It’s always laundry day
Heart 0 Comment 0
The road today, not unlike yesterday
Heart 2 Comment 0
It does not look hot in these pictures
Heart 2 Comment 0
Everyone is on the road today
Heart 2 Comment 0
First sign with my destination
Heart 1 Comment 0
A large date farm appears
Heart 2 Comment 0
Cheese route? Tell me more!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Made it to the magical pueblo of Palenque
Heart 2 Comment 0
Just in time for a “Jesus is enough” revival
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’ll be able to find lattes on this street tomorrow
Heart 2 Comment 0
Riding to my Airbnb just outside town
Heart 2 Comment 0
I have arrived
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nice grounds, still oppressively hot and humid
Heart 1 Comment 0
About to have some beers with Jose, my Airbnb host
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 63 miles (101 km)
Total: 2,813 miles (4,527 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0