03/14/24 Villahermosa - south - CycleBlaze

March 14, 2024

03/14/24 Villahermosa

Heart 0 Comment 0

I had an easy day planned, and took my time in the morning. I had a leisurely ride to the Airbnb I’d booked in between the anthropological museum and the plaza, arriving early enough to calmly visit both. 

River crossings are norm lately
Heart 1 Comment 0
I liked the look of this house and tree, felt I could live there if it wasn’t so tropical
Heart 2 Comment 0
I’m not sure why I took this. The tree I expect
Heart 1 Comment 0
Found the belly of the beast
Heart 0 Comment 0
I believe this is engine oil being sold, but haven’t asked
Heart 0 Comment 0
Traffic picked up to the point of not fun as I neared Villahermosa
Heart 0 Comment 0
Every town seems to have at least one pallet guy
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was noxious and felt dangerous to ride through, no matter how curious I was to know the cause
Heart 0 Comment 0
I found a pleasant bypass
Heart 2 Comment 0
Pipeline crossing the river
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice place on the river
Heart 1 Comment 0
Small town church
Heart 0 Comment 0
I liked the color against the gray
Heart 0 Comment 0
There’s a bike path of sorts which I ignored, because of this. It’s surprisingly treacherous this path, with dozens of these deep, staggered open manholes. They are big enough to easily swallow a bike or break a leg
Heart 0 Comment 0
Friendly welcome to Villahermosa
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mallsy at the entrance
Heart 0 Comment 0
Many pretty fountains in this town
Heart 1 Comment 0
A colorful house I liked
Heart 1 Comment 0
It looks like spring, but feels like summer
Heart 0 Comment 0
LDS has a pretty presence
Heart 0 Comment 0
More fountains
Heart 1 Comment 0
Found my Airbnb
Heart 1 Comment 0
I walked over to the state anthropological museum
Heart 0 Comment 0
I got to see the originals which had been removed from La Venta
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not the same vibe, indoors
Heart 0 Comment 0
The headlessness of many of the statues is a mystery
Heart 0 Comment 0
As this caption explains
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I like to imagine the artist who created this, over 1000 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Plaza de Armas had a surprisingly provincial feel to it. Not that the feeling of the center of power the other state capitals I’ve visited have projected
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nothing special about the state legislature building. All kind of meh
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think this is an eagle, in Independence Square
Heart 0 Comment 0
This looked like an interesting street I meant to visit on my return leg, but came back a different way
Heart 0 Comment 0
Chips, corn, mayonnaise, cheese and salsa, all served in the bag the chips came in. Young people seem to love it
Heart 0 Comment 0
An interesting building from when they were interesting
Heart 1 Comment 0
A lot of uninteresting
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some depressing
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 2,710 miles (4,361 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0