03/13/24 Cárdenas - south - CycleBlaze

March 13, 2024

03/13/24 Cárdenas

Straight, flat, humid, boring
Heart 0 Comment 0

I could have taken more pictures today. I should have taken a picture of the two women who had just opened their roadside shop and I was their first ever customer. They both got quite excited by the fact I was cycling and when I said I’d started in San Diego one jumped up and said we needed to do selfies. I was caught up in their excitement and it didn’t occur to me that I had no pictures of my own until after I’d left. 

I could have taken a picture of my flat tire, except was it? My rear tire had been a bit low since I pulled a wire from it a few days ago, but not enough to make it worth the hassle to pump it up until this morning. I topped it off but after only a few minutes it was quite low again. I walked to a shady spot and removed the tire and tube but couldn’t find anything wrong. No hissing from the tube, nothing sticking into the tire. I shrugged, added sealant to the tube and pumped it up tight and it was fine after that. Okay, I’m fine with the mystery as long as the tire is tight. 

I didn’t take any pictures of the road because it was booooooring. Flat, straight, and monotonous lushness on both sides of the road. I might have enjoyed the lushness but the hot, sticky air make me feel like a sloth, not a cyclist. I’m impressed that civilization developed here, it’s so much more appealing to lie in the shade than build a pyramid without tools. 

The flare from the petrochemical plant dominates the night sky in La Venta, gives me warm feelings
Heart 2 Comment 0
Cow up to its shoulders in the muck
Heart 1 Comment 0
More cows in the swamp
Heart 0 Comment 0
Birds too
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cárdenas isn’t grabbing me, but I’m sure it’s the weather
Heart 2 Comment 0
The church is undergoing repairs
Heart 1 Comment 2
Karen PoretThe church is undergoing repairs? From your photo, it appears to be the building to the left. Unless, this is the “newer church” which already needs repairs, despite the older church, which is still standing and looks to be in fine shape..
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
David ChavezThe building next door has stuff going on too, but inside the church the pews on the left are stacked and workers are painting and scraping. Mass takes place on the unpainted side
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Swings in the plaza
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tabasco Afternoon, entertainment put on by the IMSS pensioners
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 2,678 miles (4,310 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0