03/12/24 La Venta - south - CycleBlaze

March 12, 2024

03/12/24 La Venta

Heart 0 Comment 0

My choices were short day to La Venta or a long day to Cardenas. I intended to to the latter, but a sign indicating an archaeological site in La Venta was enough for me to abandon the long push and quit in the early afternoon before the museum closed. I’m glad I stopped, but mostly because it will mean an easier day tomorrow and not because the museum was awesome. It wasn’t, with most of the monuments fiberglass replicas, the originals hauled away to museums in Mexico City and Villahermosa. But the site was real, and a few stone originals remain, so I’m glad to have seen it. 

I had decided to ride up to Merida, but I’m finding being in the humid lowlands uninspiring and feel pulled to higher ground. So now I’m heading to Chiapas. 

I joined rush hour traffic going across the causeway out of Coatzacoalcos. It wasn’t too bad, the amount of cars kept speeds low
Heart 0 Comment 0
Stopped to photograph the river before focusing on pedaling across
Heart 1 Comment 0
The other side of the causeway
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice road on the other side
Heart 0 Comment 0
Petrochemical plants remind me of my childhood
Heart 0 Comment 0
I forget his name, but I was interviewed for the local paper
Heart 1 Comment 0
Stopped to watch it rain
Heart 0 Comment 0
Eduardo is on day three of his adventure through the Yucatán peninsula, Belize and Guatemala before returning home to Guerrero. He gave me stickers from his bike club
Heart 2 Comment 0
A nice shoulder appeared, but with annoying rumble strips
Heart 1 Comment 0
Crossed into Tabasco today
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretCan’t resist asking “was it hot in Tabasco”? 😬
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Stateline
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rio Tonalá, Veracruz/Tabasco border
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lots of bicitaxis in La Venta
Heart 2 Comment 0
La Venta embraces its Olmec heritage
Heart 2 Comment 0
Fiberglass replicas of what used to be here but are now removed to other locations
Heart 0 Comment 0
Real 2400 year old carved stones. There was some magic left in these
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
A woodpecker of sorts
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like a Pale-billed woodpecker.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pale-billed_woodpecker
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Bill identifies it as a pale-billed woodpecker
Heart 2 Comment 0
The view from on top of the pyramid. This is pretty much all of La Venta
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Pemex plant is the main business
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lush
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fake
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fake
Heart 0 Comment 0
That’s one way to put it
Heart 0 Comment 0
I saw a squirrel scamper up a tree only to be an iguana
Heart 1 Comment 0
Saw a colorful bird. Patrick thinks it a Kiskadee and Bill agrees. So do I
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Patrick O'HaraLooks like it.

https://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Great_Kiskadee/id
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
The nice hotel was fully booked, the second had terrible beds so this is where I’m staying. No hot water, no air conditioning but decent Internet and it has a fan. $17.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 2,630 miles (4,233 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0