02/25/24 Asunción Nochixtlán - south - CycleBlaze

February 25, 2024

02/25/24 Asunción Nochixtlán

A sunny ride
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a slow start today, mostly because the restaurant at the gas station didn’t open until 8 and I had no wish to descend back into town. It’s 75 miles from Tepelmeme to Oaxaca and I opted for two easyish days instead of one long. A good choice, I was still tired from the climb yesterday and there was so much sun today that I wore out faster than expected.

I haven’t seen many thatched roofs
Heart 1 Comment 0
These pine trees looked out of place
Heart 0 Comment 0
It looks like a project
Heart 0 Comment 0
And indeed it is. Apparently “Environmental compensation”
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’m riding the toll road to Oaxaca, it’s the only choice and is quite good. Traffic is light enough that I can hear my podcasts, and I’m the recipient of many encouraging honks and waves
Heart 2 Comment 0
I passed by many small villages
Heart 1 Comment 0
all with a similar look
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’ve begun encountering migrants walking north. Usually it’s small groups of young men, but occasionally families with young children, some possibly Haitian or other Caribbean nationalities. Manuel is from Honduras and had been walking from Oaxaca since being thrown off the bus by immigration authorities who also took his money and cellphone. He’d stopped me to ask how much further it was to Tepelmeme, and if I had any food. I gave him my banana and Al Otro Lado’s phone number. He’s heading north to look for work in the US, and told me I was crazier than he was
Heart 0 Comment 0
Colorful rocks
Heart 2 Comment 0
These trees have different plants growing on them
Heart 1 Comment 0
I thought perhaps orchids, but this is not familiar to me
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltAnother airplant (Bromeliad), related to the ballmoss a few days back.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/49571-Tillandsia
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
I don’t know what this is either
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMore airplants related to Spanish moss and pineapples.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Welcome to Nochixtlan, Gateway to the Mixteca. The Mixtec are the indigenous people of Oaxaca
Heart 1 Comment 0
Neurotics Anonymous, what a great idea
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’m all alone at the Hotel Fandangos
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sunday market was wrapping up when I walked to town for dinner
Heart 1 Comment 0
I need to start drinking more micheladas
Heart 0 Comment 0
Very refreshing
Heart 1 Comment 0
It’s been a while since I’ve had tacos
Heart 1 Comment 0
Still good
Heart 1 Comment 0
I expect to arrive in Oaxaca city tomorrow, where I’ll take a day or two break. I’m feeling a bit worn out and need to think about where I go next
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 33 miles (53 km)
Total: 2,150 miles (3,460 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0