02/24/24 Tepelmeme - south - CycleBlaze

February 24, 2024

02/24/24 Tepelmeme

A slog, but only because it was long. It wasn’t as steep as I had feared
Heart 0 Comment 0
I ate breakfast in my room and left Chilac at 6:30 in the morning, having prepped the night before and correctly anticipating that there would be no tamale vendors or anything open in this tiny town
Heart 1 Comment 0
I was passed by several groups of roadies on day rides from Tehuacán
Heart 1 Comment 0
The sun emerges from behind the mountains
Heart 3 Comment 0
It’s noticeably drier on this side of the pass
Heart 2 Comment 0
Sierra Madre Sur tectonics
Heart 2 Comment 0
The first of several high bridges
Heart 1 Comment 0
The start of a 6-hour, 16 mile climb
Heart 1 Comment 0
I saw a small bird. I also saw several large birds catching animals but never in time to grab my camera. I took a lot of effort to stop grinding and reach into my bag
Heart 0 Comment 0
I found this to be a very satisfying lunch
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nele and Jalil are a German/Mexican couple living in Germany and on multimonth van tour around southern Mexico. See CamperStyle.de, it’s how they make their living. They topped off my water and gave me a cold bottle of Coca-Cola which made the final 5 miles of climbing a lot more pleasant! I could have had a cold beer as well, but I declined, knowing from experience that beer needs to wait for the end of the day…
Heart 0 Comment 0
Still climbing
Heart 1 Comment 0
I passed the Oaxaca state line without photographing the sign
Heart 2 Comment 0
Feeling vaguely at home in the high desert
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tepelmeme appears
Heart 1 Comment 0
There was a hotel next to the gas station on the highway but I went into town hoping to find something quieter and more food choices
Heart 1 Comment 0
I had second thoughts when I saw the steep hill leading into town, but let gravity and optimism pull me down
Heart 0 Comment 0
I should have trusted my instincts, all three hotels in town were non-functioning. That was depressing because I’d let myself think the climbing was over. I walked back up the hill to the gas station hotel
Heart 0 Comment 0
No hot water, no Internet, overpriced at $40 with an equally overpriced restaurant. But cold beer and it beat camping behind the gas station
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 2,117 miles (3,407 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0