02/23/24 San Gabriel Chilac - south - CycleBlaze

February 23, 2024

02/23/24 San Gabriel Chilac

More work than I expected
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was anticipating another fun and easy day today, but headwinds, hazy views and temperatures in the low 90’s made me glad to arrive in Chilac in the early afternoon. 

I’m finding the people I meet to be consistently cheerful and friendly. Even the police were giving me encouraging waves and thumbs up. 

What today looked like
Heart 0 Comment 0
In one town the power lines were full of what I presumed were bird nests
Heart 0 Comment 0
but which Bill informs me are ballmoss. They are plants that live on what they pull from the air. Fascinating
Heart 3 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltBallmoss

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/84002-Tillandsia-recurvata/browse_photos?place_id=6793
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
David ChavezTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks! I was hoping you’d know. It’s a pretty amazing plant
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltIt really is amazing! It gets moisture and minerals from the air and only uses utility lines or trees or whatever to attach. It is related to pineapples too! When I was in Trinidad, there was a lot of it on power lines and trees.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Always at least one church
Heart 1 Comment 0
Still seeing these pretty arches
Heart 2 Comment 0
Hot farm country
Heart 0 Comment 0
I didn’t enjoy the road today. No shoulder with a high lip
Heart 0 Comment 0
and lots of traffic
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretIt’s Friday…;)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
I’m heading in the right direction
Heart 0 Comment 0
A field of cabbage
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tehuacán was a big, bustling town. Came across these musicians near the plaza. Must have been near a college, judging by the student types
Heart 1 Comment 0
Busy streets. I considered getting a fruit salad when I was stopping for the car in front, but had just finished a really good torta and wasn’t hungry
Heart 0 Comment 1
Karen PoretFruit salad to go, David!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Corn and the southern Sierra Madre
Heart 2 Comment 0
My first encounter with a Mexican train on this trip
Heart 1 Comment 0
It was just three engines, doing a forward and back maneuver
Heart 0 Comment 0
The last few miles into Chilac were dusty
Heart 0 Comment 0
Welcome to San Gabriel Chilac, Constant Development for All
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looked like a statue of a woman on top of a garlic
Heart 0 Comment 0
Indeed it was. A local confirmed Chilac is known for its garlic. A Mexican Gilroy, if you will
Heart 2 Comment 1
Karen PoretChristopher Farms, Gilroy..Steenkin’ rose..
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
It had a jolly feel, in spite of it being hot and sluggish
Heart 1 Comment 0
The first hotel I tried was full, the other was locked, but I found a room in the San Gabriel
Heart 0 Comment 0
It’s a $20 oasis. No hot water but the lukewarm shower was refreshing
Heart 3 Comment 0
There doesn’t seem much going on in this town. I bought supplies for the big climb tomorrow and walked around taking random pictures
Heart 0 Comment 0
The plaza was empty of people but full of litter
Heart 0 Comment 0
At least one artist lives here
Heart 1 Comment 0

Tomorrow promises to be difficult, a long climb into Oaxaca state with no services. It’s not supposed to be as hot but the wind should still be blowing. I’m hoping I can leave early. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 2,073 miles (3,336 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0