02/15/24 Oaxtepec, ouch! - south - CycleBlaze

February 16, 2024

02/15/24 Oaxtepec, ouch!

Heart 0 Comment 0

I quit early after I fell off my bike and whacked my right thigh something proper. I was slowing down to look at some weekend getaways for Mexico City residents, trying to decide if I should pause at one to give the predicted rain a chance to clear the air, and I lost my balance and fell waaay down. I took it as a sign and got a room. 

I let Google plot me a cycle route out of the city
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was soon off the busy streets
Heart 0 Comment 0
and onto roads I’d never have found, or chosen
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had to back track because of some police activity. I was firmly told to not proceed, and confess to being disappointed about not getting to see what was causing this
Heart 0 Comment 0
Plenty of up and down. Cuernavaca is not a cycle friendly place
Heart 1 Comment 0
Once I’d made decent progress I stopped for my morning tamale
Heart 1 Comment 0
Oaxaca style, wrapped in banana leaves instead of corn husks
Heart 2 Comment 0
At the northern edge of the city. I walked this bit
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nearly out, looking back
Heart 1 Comment 0
Popocatépetl barely visible in the distance. I had to really tweak the contrast and other settings to get this much of it to show
Heart 1 Comment 0
Arriving in Tepoztlán and the start of a long downhill stretch
Heart 1 Comment 0
I was disappointed to find myself on the opposite side of this beautiful cycle path that Google didn’t know about
Heart 0 Comment 0
Then I saw cars speeding by in both directions. Turns out it was a shoulder-less road. Whew!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The air is terrible
Heart 0 Comment 0
Continual descent next 10 km. Yes!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Popocatépetl invisible in the haze
Heart 0 Comment 0
Little fires everywhere
Heart 0 Comment 0
And a few big ones
Heart 0 Comment 0
A mouthful of towns
Heart 0 Comment 0
Spraying cucumbers
Heart 0 Comment 0
I slowed down to look at the lodging on the side of the road but was too close to the edge. There was nothing but air beneath my foot when I began to lean to the right, fortunately no tanker truck was passing by at the time.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I fell all the way to the road, bouncing my thigh on the ledge above. A pair of ladies witnessed the incident and came clucking over to make sure I was ok. One went across the street to inquire about rooms while I collected my senses
Heart 1 Comment 2
Patrick O'HaraWhoa. That's quite a drop.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Karen PoretTo Patrick O'HaraOuch! Hopefully you will be okay! :)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Normally $60, but I got a room for $40, partly because I whined but mostly because nobody is here today. The weekend crowd will arrive tomorrow
Heart 0 Comment 0
It’s a nice place
Heart 2 Comment 0
I’m sipping beer and icing my thigh by the empty pool, which I’m now terrified of falling into
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretWell, there IS yellow caution tape around it… not much consolation though. Ice is your best friend in this situation, David.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

Today's ride: 25 miles (40 km)
Total: 1,901 miles (3,059 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rich FrasierYeah, ouch is indeed the word. There for the grace of luck go the rest of us. One moment of distraction is all it takes.

I hope you heal quickly and completely. Really enjoying following along on your adventure.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago