02/16/24 San Juan Tehuixtitlán - south - CycleBlaze

February 16, 2024

02/16/24 San Juan Tehuixtitlán

Up all day, 3700 feet of climbing
Heart 0 Comment 0
Popocatépetl has been my riding muse since Cuernavaca
Heart 1 Comment 0
Out of deference to my injuries I had decided in the night that I’d forgo Pasó del Cortes and take a gentler route along the southern edge. I quickly discovered my routing apps had lied to me again, putting me on dirt and rocky roads
Heart 0 Comment 0
The slow going gave me plenty of time to ponder my decision. I was finding myself disappointed about missing the pass, even though I knew it was going to hurt. Not having any confidence in my current route turning to pavement anytime soon, I reverted to plan A when I intersected the highway to Amencameca, gateway to Pasó del Cortes
Heart 2 Comment 0
These were all lit up and flashing, a colorful sight from far away
Heart 2 Comment 0
Trash burning along the side of the road. Everyone is always burning something here. It’s why I’ve yet to get a decent view of the volcano
Heart 0 Comment 0
Done with Morelia, back in Edo. de Mexico for a little bit
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz O.S.H is pictured in the mural outside her birthplace of San Miguel Nepantla, where I passed but did not stop
Heart 0 Comment 0
It calls itself the Pueblo of Poetry because of her, considered by Wikipedia as “ one of the most important female authors in Spanish language literature”. I knew none of this at the time, I merely paused, photographed, and pedaled on
Heart 0 Comment 0
It must have been something in its day
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tepetlixpa looked interesting from the road, but not that interesting with its vertical cobblestone streets. I rode past
Heart 1 Comment 0
Getting close enough for better views
Heart 3 Comment 0
Iztaccihuatl, Popocatépetl’s twin looming over Ozumba de Álzate. Pasó del Cortez crosses the saddle between the two
Heart 1 Comment 0
I took several pictures of Popocatépetl, you’re lucky I only included two
Heart 1 Comment 0
My plan was to spend two nights in Amencameca. It’s supposed to be cloudy and cold with a chance of rain tomorrow but sunny the day after. I stopped at a restaurant just outside Amencameca and when I was finished I found I really didn’t want to ride anymore. I checked out the hotel across the street
Heart 0 Comment 0
It had a hotel side and a motel side. You could get cheaper rooms on the motel side, but only for 6 hours or from 10 pm to 8 am with no in and out privileges. I took a more expensive but unrestricted room on the hotel side where I figure my neighbors would be quieter. No heat, but plenty of hot water which is a huge plus. A long, hot shower at the end of a tiring ride is better than beer
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 1,925 miles (3,098 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0