02/08/24 Atlacomulco - south - CycleBlaze

February 8, 2024

02/08/24 Atlacomulco

Perfect temperatures made this a pleasant climb. 8,800 feet is a new high for this trip
Heart 0 Comment 0

My stomach’s still not 100%, a fact which was made clear when I was presented with an elaborate breakfast buffet this morning but could only eat some yogurt. The unsampled delights will no doubt haunt me later, once I’m fully recovered and my appetite returns. 
 
I’m in Atlacomulco, a town of about 100,000 which I haven’t explored but will have plenty of opportunity to do so. I’m parked here until my package arrives or until I give up and say fuck it and just buy a regular tire and stick with inner tubes. I’ve got a really nice Airbnb with fast Internet and am content to lounge for a while. 

Crossed into the state of Mexico
Heart 0 Comment 0
A bit of climbing today, but in spite of not feeling top notch it was nice. The temperature was a lovely 75 and I took a nap under a tree off the left side of this picture
Heart 1 Comment 0
Descending towards Atlacomulco. The air has a nasty tinge that I’m pretty sure is coming from Mexico City, 60 miles away as the crow flies
Heart 0 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltInteresting you got a flying yellow butterfly in the upper right! Might be some kind of sulfur butterfly.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/48551-Phoebis
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
David ChavezI didn’t notice until you pointed that out! Thanks!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Karen PoretTo Bill ShaneyfeltThat was the first thing I noticed , Bill because it was so “unreal” for this photo. Thanks for the identification!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Someone built a small castle
Heart 0 Comment 0
Drying potatoes? on the roof. There’s a bike up there too
Heart 0 Comment 2
Karen PoretAnd, Santa on the “rooftop”..late delivery perhaps? 😬
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
David ChavezI hadn’t noticed and completely filtered him out of the picture. The amount of Santas and other Christmas related decorations that are still on display this long after the holiday is amazing. I have was still seeing Christmas trees in plazas as recently as last week
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
My Airbnb is above the red canopy. I’m very pleased with it, newly remodeled and much cheaper than the hotels in the noisy center
Heart 0 Comment 0
I walked to the center hoping to find roasted chicken but it was closed and I didn’t have the appetite anyway
Heart 1 Comment 0
Plaza and city hall
Heart 0 Comment 0
I don’t know if these are competing churches or just old and new versions of the same
Heart 2 Comment 0
Found the market, I’ll come here for juice in the morning
Heart 0 Comment 0
This guy offers prayers, sent by radio and his big antenna
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gloomy skies. My Airbnb hosts insists it’s not smoke, but my air quality maps disagree
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hello
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 21 miles (34 km)
Total: 1,770 miles (2,849 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Karen PoretStill hoping you will get better soon enough to actually enjoy your journey!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
David ChavezI’m having the time of my life, temporary distraction notwithstanding. There’s nothing else I’d rather be doing
Reply to this comment
3 months ago