02/07/24 tire trouble in Tepetongo - south - CycleBlaze

February 7, 2024

02/07/24 tire trouble in Tepetongo

A short long day
Heart 0 Comment 0

I spent a lot of time in bed and am largely recovered from yesterday’s food poisoning. I’d feel a lot better if I didn’t have late night neighbors arrive and act as if they were the only ones in the hotel. I eventually requested they shut the fuck up, and they looked very surprised but complied. 

My rear tire was quite low in the morning and hissed loudly when I pumped it up, leaking around the plug I installed in Ensenada two months ago. I added more sealant and replaced the plug and all seemed well when I nervously rode off at 10 am, much later than I wanted to for the destination I’d picked. I was aiming for Altacomulco, 40 uphill miles away and where, in theory, my FedEx package with a new tire has been dispatched. I made it 15 miles before I lost all the air and sighed, among other things.  I pulled the tire, a messy endeavor since I’d just added sealant, installed a tube and got moving again, feeling a mixture of satisfaction for having dealt with the problem and dread that I was almost certainly going to have a flat soon given how thin my tire is.  By then it was midafternoon and I hadn’t even begun the steep part of the long climb to Altacomulco so when a hotel soon presented itself I was happy to call it a day.  

I’m riding the toll road, mainly because I figured I could hitch a ride easier if I ended up without a rear tire
Heart 0 Comment 0
The toll road isn’t my first choice any more. The shoulder is nice, but it’s always noisy and with a lot of tire debris with wires that can easily cause punctures
Heart 0 Comment 0
This doesn’t look good
Heart 0 Comment 0
Full of sealant
Heart 0 Comment 0
I spent a long time cleaning out the dried sealant. I found a lot of punctures and a few wires, so I’d clearly been spared multiple flats
Heart 0 Comment 0
I glued a boot over the hole where the plug had been
Heart 0 Comment 0
Glad to be done
Heart 2 Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesIt looks like you collapsed from the exertion.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
On the move again, with a lot of uphill miles yet to go. I wasn’t excited in the slightest
Heart 0 Comment 0
Five miles later I saw a sign pointing to Hotel off the toll road and didn’t hesitate
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hotel Paraíso
Heart 1 Comment 0
Exactly where I want to be right now
Heart 0 Comment 0
The family that runs the hotel and restaurant was having a birthday party
Heart 0 Comment 0
This 15 year old was very happy with his PS5
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 22 miles (35 km)
Total: 1,749 miles (2,815 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Karen PoretGlad you are on the mend, physically, but sorry your bike tire isn’t “following your lead”…
Reply to this comment
3 months ago