01/16/24 Tequila - south - CycleBlaze

January 16, 2024

01/16/24 Tequila

Heart 0 Comment 0


I crossed into Jalisco without any signage. Lots of climbing but the air was nice, so it was pleasantly tiring.  

I got into Tequila close to sunset, found it to be a hopping place. Lots of people but not as many foreign tourists as I anticipated. I’ll be staying here two nights, partly to see the town in daylight but I also need calm time to tend to some banking and tax stuff back home and to plan my transit through Guadalajara. It’s a big city and not really convenient for a touring bike but kind of in the way and unavoidable. 

First stop this morning was the market for my orange juice and psyllium fix, breakfast and stuff for lunch
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking back at Ixtlán. The road was climbing from the start but I was charged with the peanut salsa on my tacos. First time I’d tried it, it was delicious and cleared my pipes!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nice shoulder
Heart 1 Comment 0
A sea of agave
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jesús was walking 5 miles back to his ranchito and complaining of thirst. I had plenty of water and let him drink his fill, which was almost a liter
Heart 3 Comment 0
Obsidian wall
Heart 1 Comment 0
Volcán de Tequila, responsible for the good agave growing soil
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tequila, Jalisco
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ramiro was waiting for his buddies to come with a new tire and a truck to offload this parota wood. It’s used for making tables and other furniture
Heart 1 Comment 0
He was recently returned from working in McAllen, Texas. When he learned I was from New Mexico he asked if I knew Rodeo, NM a speck of a town in between Lordsburg and Douglas, AZ where he’d also spent time. I passed through Rodeo on my first post-retirement ride
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltGood nature museum north of Rodeo... worth the stop.

Chiricahua Desert Museum
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Another “Pueblo Mágico”
Heart 2 Comment 0
You can take tours in the barrelmobile
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tequila is tourist destination and hotels were insanely expensive.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I found an Airbnb for $20
Heart 2 Comment 0
Basic, but quiet and very close to the main plaza
Heart 1 Comment 0
This empty bar was across the street and where I eventually tried some smooth and tasty tequila. But I needed food first
Heart 1 Comment 0
I opted for corn and potatoes
Heart 0 Comment 0
Elotes con papas with crema, cheese and peanut salsa. Doesn’t look like much but hit the spot
Heart 2 Comment 0
Wandered around
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mass was just finishing
Heart 2 Comment 2
Robert BryceVery cool church. More obsidian? Really enjoying your words and photos
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
David ChavezThanks! The church is built with large chunks of vesicular lava, but no glass like the wall I saw outside of town
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Christmas is never going to leave
Heart 0 Comment 0
The area was hopping with people and cars. All just cruising it seemed
Heart 1 Comment 0
There are So Many liquor stores
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Even the clothing stores sell tequila!
Heart 0 Comment 0
All picturesque and empty. It didn’t look like anyone was actually doing any drinking
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Except for these guys
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 1,287 miles (2,071 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0