01/15/24 Ixtlán del Río - south - CycleBlaze

January 15, 2024

01/15/24 Ixtlán del Río

A blip of a ride
Heart 0 Comment 0

I decided that the 9 miles over the hill I skipped yesterday would make trying to get to Tequila just past the edge of what I can do in a day with the current topography and temperatures, so I just finished yesterday’s plan and stopped in Ixtlán del Río. That let me sleep in rather than set my alarm and leave early, so today was calm and enjoyable. 

My morning began with complimentary coffee and buñuelos on the patio
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I was walking the cobblestones out of Jala when Pedro stopped to ask about my trip and give me some delicious candy coated peanuts. They are my new favorite snack
Heart 1 Comment 0
I didn’t have high expectations for Ixtlán, but found it interesting and full of friendly people
Heart 1 Comment 0
I was looking for the budget hotel the ladies at the juice stand recommended when I came across the Marques de Minas
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’m a sucker for a boutique hotel
Heart 1 Comment 0
It’s close to the plaza but away from the noise of the streets
Heart 1 Comment 0
Busier than it looks. It really came to life after dark
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not hungry after my nothing ride, I snacked on fruit salad, washed down with a baggie of fresh coconut water
Heart 1 Comment 0
Eduardo is pretending to stir the roasting peanuts. He also sold boiled peanuts which I’d never tried before and don’t excite me
Heart 0 Comment 0
After the plaza I went back to my hotel and worked on my bike. My rear tire wasn’t holding air, so I added more sealant. An easy but stressful process, it requires removing the valve core and I worry that might pop the bead. But it didn’t
Heart 0 Comment 0
After a small siesta I decided to walk up the hill that overlooks the city
Heart 0 Comment 0
A long staircase, I was pleased I could do it in one go without feeling tired. All that pedaling is doing me good
Heart 2 Comment 0
The view from the top was hard to capture, with the sun in exactly the wrong spot at the time
Heart 1 Comment 0
At the top. Finally get to use my waking sticks
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking at tomorrow’s ride, which begins with a climb
Heart 1 Comment 0
I chatted with Nataly on the way down, who was resting on her second lap up the stairs. She recommended I visit the archeological site on the edge of town, but they are closed until Wednesday
Heart 0 Comment 0
I thought it looked interesting
Heart 3 Comment 0
I went out for dinner and another stroll around the plaza
Heart 1 Comment 0
I think I might be in cowboy country
Heart 0 Comment 0
I can’t figure out if these are games or gambling devices. I suppose i should ask
Heart 0 Comment 0
I see them everywhere
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 9 miles (14 km)
Total: 1,240 miles (1,996 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0