01/17/24 zipping through Guadalajara - south - CycleBlaze

January 17, 2024

01/17/24 zipping through Guadalajara

Heart 0 Comment 0

After I was done with my business this morning I realized I had no interest in exploring Tequila further and really just wanted to ride my bike. That’s when I’m happiest, I’ve found. So I ditched my Airbnb and set out intending to stop on the outskirts of Guadalajara and tackle the city tomorrow.  I’d already decided I wasn’t going to attempt to explore this city, it needs too much thought and care when hauling a loaded bicycle. When I got to the western edges there was still over three hours of daylight remaining so I found a random hotel on the east side of the city and let Google route me there. I never trust Google cycling routes for intercity travel, they are almost always absurdly difficult and extra long, but it works fine for getting around towns. Guadalajara has a lot of cycle paths, though not continuous, and I was able to cross the city without much trouble.   I’ve still got a bit to go before I’m back to the countryside, but I believe the hard part is done. 

My only picture of Tequila this morning. These are in every town I’ve visited and are bottle cap recycling bins. The proceeds go to helping children with leukemia and other serious childhood illnesses
Heart 3 Comment 0
The town of Amatitán claims credit for the beverage
Heart 2 Comment 0
I’m not sure of the symbolism here
Heart 1 Comment 0
It was a nice cloudy day, made the ride comfortable
Heart 2 Comment 0
Reconnecting with the toll road that I left yesterday to get to Tequila
Heart 0 Comment 0
Which you get to via this piece of dirt next to another bridge to nowhere
Heart 2 Comment 0
Climbing to over 5000 feet, back to hometown elevations
Heart 0 Comment 0
Approaching the city
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tense
Heart 0 Comment 2
Judy GaukelLooks very unfun right there. Are drivers as bad as in so cal?
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
David ChavezNot a fun stretch, but as a rule drivers have been very accommodating. The exception was the other day in Silao where I thought perhaps I was invisible, the motorcycles kept nearly clipping me
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
It was white knuckles for a long time
Heart 0 Comment 0
Until I reached the first bike path
Heart 0 Comment 0
Trusting Google to get me there
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hard Rock Hotel off in the distance on a busy boulevard I was happy to avoid
Heart 0 Comment 0
Once I was in the city it wasn’t nearly an intense experience as feared, I had a protected lane most of the time
Heart 2 Comment 0
A few manually navigated traffic circles which I did as a pedestrian
Heart 1 Comment 0
Templo Expiatorio del Santísimo Sacramento. A neo-Gothic wonder it took 75 years to build and was only completed in 1972. I had wanted to see this and was pleased my route took me by
Heart 3 Comment 0
I saw plenty of people using these public bikes
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Worker’s Party promoting their candidate
Heart 0 Comment 0
I went down a street full of used book stores. This is one of many
Heart 2 Comment 0
I transited a variety of neighborhoods
Heart 2 Comment 0
Not all as nice, but all with cycle paths
Heart 3 Comment 0
And some quite nice. I think Guadalajara would be an interesting destination in other circumstances
Heart 1 Comment 0
Two Temples Plaza. I only photographed one
Heart 2 Comment 0
My random hotel was quite nice. The best yet and under budget (if I average it with the others)
Heart 2 Comment 0
It comes with a cat
Heart 2 Comment 0
and a garden
Heart 2 Comment 0
The bathroom is twice the size of my Airbnb last night
Heart 2 Comment 0

I haven’t done any serious route plan beyond Guadalajara, it’s always been this looming obstacle I needed to get past. So now I need to decide where to go next. I’ll do that over breakfast tomorrow, I think 

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 1,331 miles (2,142 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0