01/18/24 Tepetitlán - south - CycleBlaze

January 18, 2024

01/18/24 Tepetitlán

Lots of climbing, highest elevation to date
Heart 0 Comment 0

A tiring day with lots of up and down, breaking 6000 feet for the first time. It took about 2 hours to completely escape Guadalajara, climbing, climbing all the time except for the annoyingly frequent downhill that I’d have to immediately pay back. It was a gloomy, gray day, which kept things cool but not very scenic. I got as far as Tepetitlán, which turns out to be a rather hilly town. As I write this, freshly arrived and sipping beer, not yet bathed, I don’t relish the idea of leaving in the morning and am considering staying two nights.  I reevaluate once I’ve rejuvenated a bit. 

No bike lanes on this side of Guadalajara
Heart 1 Comment 0
Working my way east
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cobblestone streets are not fun to ride. Fortunately it wasn’t a long stretch
Heart 3 Comment 0
Passed a collector’s house
Heart 2 Comment 0
The suburb of Tonalá could be a destination in its own right, as it’s a handicrafts center of some renown. Cyclists have the right of way
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Tonalá median was packed with sculptures. This is only a small part
Heart 1 Comment 0
I found it all very interesting but didn’t stop, I was focused on my route
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Finally out of the city and onto the toll roads. I opted for the left fork, I’ve decided to head north a bit to visit Guanajuato
Heart 0 Comment 0
The smog of Guadalajara is finally behind me
Heart 1 Comment 0
This looks oddly familiar
Heart 2 Comment 0
The dirt is brown here
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wayward cow, seemed confused as to why it was by the side of the highway and not behind the fence
Heart 1 Comment 0
After lots of climbing Tepetitlán appears
Heart 1 Comment 0
This town is hilly
Heart 3 Comment 0
I went to the main plaza and had a popsicle while looking for a hotel on my phone. A passing driver shouted “Welcome!” in English as I was taking this picture
Heart 3 Comment 0
I found an inexpensive place a few blocks away
Heart 2 Comment 0
With a little courtyard. I feels like I’m the only guest
Heart 2 Comment 0
I went back to the center for food and people watching. It was lively
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rocking horses for the children. Note the guy with the tuba on the right
Heart 2 Comment 0
There was a band in the gazebo playing music, mostly marches
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
I’m not at all religious, but lately I’ve found it relaxing to sit in these churches and think in the calm away from the street
Heart 3 Comment 0
City Hall
Heart 2 Comment 0
A whole lot of birds
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 1,377 miles (2,216 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0