01/10/24 Tepic - south - CycleBlaze

January 10, 2024

01/10/24 Tepic

90% humidity and a cold made this a very difficult day
Heart 0 Comment 0

My hotel was quiet but the air conditioning seemed to be emitting mold instead of cold air. I eventually turned it off and tossed and turned on clammy sheets. I was expecting today to be more difficult than the previous three and indeed it was. It was so humid that the only relief was on the occasional downhill but my shirt was so wet that I ended up with chills.   I’m not thinking clearly now. 

I’m so glad it was cloudy today, otherwise I don’t think I’d have made it. The few times the sun came out were unbearable
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lots of rivers coming out of the mountains
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bananas growing upside down on the side of the road. Definitely in the tropics
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jackfruit, according to my app
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltThey get really huge! And the sap stains terribly. I ruined a few shirts harvesting one at my brother's in Hawaii.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Some sort of insect nest
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltI suspect termites. Notice the runway constructed from the ground to the nest. They need moisture from the ground, but need to nest higher where flooding that is so common in tropics cannot drown them.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/553417-Nasutitermitinae/browse_photos?place_id=6793
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
I’m met Chris and his girlfriend in the ferry. He rides much faster than I, having left Mazatlán the day after I did. His girlfriend took the bus to Guadalajara, which seems like a very attractive option
Heart 1 Comment 0
Everywhere there are reminders of the blip. This one is titled “New Normal”. I see many more masks than in the US, but mostly it’s only a fading memory here as well
Heart 0 Comment 0
Trees will do what they need to do
Heart 2 Comment 0
There’s a large bird in this photo. I want a zoom lens, but I won’t be looking for a camera in Tepic because I’m kind of in zombie mode right now
Heart 0 Comment 0
He was fast!
Heart 3 Comment 0
I was about to start conserving water when I found this unexpected shop in Benito Juarez, population 399
Heart 1 Comment 0
Surprised to find the Stars and Bars
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not a very glorious entrance to the city
Heart 0 Comment 0
“Tepic is the second safest city in Mexico“
Heart 0 Comment 0
Busy, noisy
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltTrumpet vine

https://housing.com/news/trumpet-vine/
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Following Google to my hotel
Heart 1 Comment 0
I picked the budget busting Marriott affiliate
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here for two nights whilst I take stock
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 1,186 miles (1,909 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0