01/09/24 Ruiz - south - CycleBlaze

January 9, 2024

01/09/24 Ruiz

A tiny bit of a climb, but still mostly flat
Heart 0 Comment 0
Picked up some avocados and bananas for lunch today
Heart 2 Comment 0
Sorghum
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bridge to nowhere. There’s a dirt road on either side but no ramp. This is the second one I’ve seen on this highway
Heart 1 Comment 0
I like this view, Sierra Madre and river
Heart 0 Comment 0
I watched him safely cross the road
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltNice job!

Mexican red knee tarantula I think.

https://animaldiversity.org/accounts/Brachypelma_smithi/pictures/collections/contributors/tricia_jones/redkneetarantula_pic00104/
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Tobacco, according to my app. I only saw this one field
Heart 1 Comment 0
Raúl was riding his motorcycle the opposite direction and stopped to offer water and ask about my trip
Heart 0 Comment 0
He was curious to try my bike
Heart 1 Comment 0
and found it not as difficult as he expected
Heart 0 Comment 0
Approaching the first climb since arriving on the mainland
Heart 1 Comment 0
The only real picture I took while climbing. The rest were all taken in my head. I’ve decided to look for a camera in Tepic
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMight be a buttercup tree.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/132130/browse_photos
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
I forget why I took this picture. Possibly because it’s the last of the flat
Heart 0 Comment 0
You go through Tijuanita to get to Ruiz on the west side of the Guadalajara-Nogales railroad
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tijuanita felt a bit rough and unfriendly
Heart 0 Comment 0
But that might have just been the road
Heart 2 Comment 1
Ruiz proper was a busy town
Heart 0 Comment 0
First stop was for popsicles
Heart 0 Comment 0
I ended up having 3
Heart 0 Comment 0
Passed through town on the way to my hotel on the west side. This is a friendlier entrance than via Tijuanita
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Second stop was for chicken. I’ve been eating a lot of these lately
Heart 0 Comment 0
“Surely you’re not going to eat all that by yourself”
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yes
Heart 0 Comment 0
I am
Heart 0 Comment 0
Google said Casa Monte Ruesga was the best hotel in town and I believe it. The others definitely didn’t have a courtyard like this
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 1,145 miles (1,843 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraHey David. Been really enjoying your journal. Great narrative and photos. Good one on ya for embarking on this adventure.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago