01/08/24 Acaponeta - south - CycleBlaze

January 8, 2024

01/08/24 Acaponeta

Another flat day. This will change
Heart 0 Comment 0

I’m absolutely loving this. Pleasant riding, friendly people and  interesting towns to wander at the end of the day. 

Chayito had her nephew take our picture as I was leaving this morning. She’s a bit of a hoot and I enjoyed chatting with her. Apparently Jules Verne stayed at this hotel once
Heart 1 Comment 0
Chayito’s nephew tried hard for a group selfie, this is the best attempt
Heart 1 Comment 0
A mural I spotted leaving town
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’m finding lots of murals
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’m riding the toll road to Tepic, for the nice shoulder and softer grades. Cyclists are allowed to ride free.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This sign has no meaning
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking east
Heart 0 Comment 0
Every few miles there are these spots with a cistern full of water, trash cans, and occasionally an SOS phone. The phone is a relic I believe, there’s been consistent cell coverage
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mangoes as far as the eye can see
Heart 0 Comment 0
There was a section with lots of booths selling shrimp tamales, dried shrimp and dried mangoes
Heart 0 Comment 0
I stopped at an empty one and used the shade and table for a lunch break
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lunch
Heart 1 Comment 0
I suppose this could get boring, but for now I’m delighted to be out of the desert
Heart 0 Comment 0
State line
Heart 0 Comment 0
Still not bored
Heart 1 Comment 0
Jose was returning from an errand in the next town when we met as I was leaving the toll road for Acaponeta. We rode the last five miles together talking bikes and crops
Heart 1 Comment 0
He suggested we stop for beer and bocadillos when we got to town. Ok, if you insist
Heart 1 Comment 0
Starting clockwise from the limes is ceviche, boiled shrimp, marlin and ending with pig skin. Some small fried fishes appeared a bit later. I enjoyed them all but the pig skin which I refused to acknowledge, much less try
Heart 0 Comment 0
The waitress brought a box to hold our empties
Heart 1 Comment 0
We only had 4 each, though I suspect Jose would have been OK with a few more rounds
Heart 1 Comment 0
I followed him into town as he showed me hotel options. I picked a nice one a few blocks from the plaza, where I wandered over after settling in
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fried bananas offered here. I will try one eventually, but I was still full from beer and bocadillos
Heart 1 Comment 0
Murals everywhere
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Semi new American sheets
Heart 0 Comment 0
Brightest building in Acaponeta
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 1,096 miles (1,764 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0