01/07/24 El Rosario - south - CycleBlaze

January 7, 2024

01/07/24 El Rosario

An easy, pleasant ride, despite the lack of sleep
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was too wired from my long talks with Miguel and chats with the other cyclists on the ferry and too tired from the lack of sleep that I was finding Mazatlán a bit of an overload. I was sure anyplace I found to stay would be noisy or expensive or both and my pedal around the malecón and city center were enough after a couple of hours. I was also a bit agitated to discover I’d left my camera at the Airbnb in La Paz, so I scrapped my plans of spending the day in the city and rode tomorrow’s plan to El Rosario.  It was flat, slight tailwind, and brand new scenery so completely unlike Baja that I found it possibly the most enjoyable leg so far on this trip. 

I haven’t lost my camera. Kent and I were tag teaming the Airbnb and he found it when he arrived, but it will be weeks before I have a hope of seeing it again. So cell phone photos for a while. 

I saw all sorts of interesting things leaving Mazatlán and was photographing them in my head. I was surprised when none of them we’re actually taken and the first picture was of this brick factory just outside of town. I may have to address the camera problem sooner than later, it’s very inconvenient to use the same device for navigating and documenting
Heart 1 Comment 0
The Villa Union church. I could see it poking up as I got close to town
Heart 2 Comment 0
Decision time. Over the steep hills to Durango, or take the more gentle route through Nayarit?
Heart 0 Comment 0
The beginnings of the mountains I will not be crossing
Heart 1 Comment 0
Leaving Villa Union through miles of mango trees. 6 months too early
Heart 3 Comment 0
A kind of a cactus farm
Heart 0 Comment 0
Something else being cultivated
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oops
Heart 1 Comment 0
Agave fields
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not yet done with cactus
Heart 2 Comment 0
More agave
Heart 3 Comment 0
I had a bit of an “oh, I am actually doing this” moment when I saw this sign
Heart 1 Comment 0
Got to El Rosario at sundown
Heart 2 Comment 0
An old fashioned city center, away from the noise of the highway. 400 pesos for the room, cheaper than Baja
Heart 2 Comment 0
Went to the plaza to look for dinner
Heart 3 Comment 0
Found beer and pizza
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 1,038 miles (1,670 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0