Day 4 - Wilmington - Southport - Sound-Cloud Solo Tour 2021 - CycleBlaze

May 5, 2021

Day 4 - Wilmington - Southport

After another wonderful overnight...

Southport
Heart 2 Comment 0

My overnight in Wilmington, with the Bossut family, was so cool and warm.  What?  Warm hospitality with cool people.  

Angela, Stephane and their two daughters listened my stories and made me a refreshing dinner that included a lot of color.   Stephane was original from France.  He is a master of wood working and creating things with his hands.  Angela said he is always busy doing something to include redoing to historic vehicle.  

Angela, is an artist and mom.  She has a love for biking and wants someday to tour.   The has hosted many cyclists; they had such cool stories about their guests.  

Clem, one of the 2 daughters who I had the pleasure to meet, was a comical and smart young person. She said she is learning a lot from the cyclists who roll in.   Thank you for reading about them, the are my new southern friends!

Heart 3 Comment 0

The ride out of Wilmington was busy, but traffic eventually disappeared as I traveled from Shipyard to River Road.  The junction passed through the industrial area and into new  development construction that included a new walking/bicycling path that was very welcoming.  

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Right not left Keith.....to Carolina Beach and Fort Fisher Ferry. Yes, I turned north then realized ... Coffee and the beach were the other direct!  I found both!

Crush & Grind
Heart 1 Comment 0

Thank you Tamora for the honey!

Well, challenging headwinds to Southport, but the day is done.  Secured an overnight behind a church in Southport - 2nd church do far.  

Heart 3 Comment 2
Keith A. SpanglerI liked the seagull on the post....it was terribly windy that day.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

To get here I slipped onto the Fort Fisher Ferry; the Trucker loves boat rides. 

Heart 3 Comment 1
Daniel SpanglerLoaded down!!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bicycle Traveler
Heart 3 Comment 0

Southport is a small town that I think could grow on a person.  The tourist I'm sure brings it to life a little more.  

Heart 2 Comment 0

Anyway, good nite all and good nite Southport.  Let me tell you they make a good hamburger at the Blue Cow Grill, check it out. 

Good nite all and good nite Southport thanks for having me!

Heart 3 Comment 2
Keith A. SpanglerDan that is a general store on the corner, it was closed when I got there. And opened to late. Crap, my kind of place.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 214 miles (344 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Tamora StumHappy Cinco De Mayo Biker Dale!! Another fun day!!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago