Day 3 - White Lake to Wilmington - Sound-Cloud Solo Tour 2021 - CycleBlaze

May 4, 2021

Day 3 - White Lake to Wilmington

Passage through Bladen State Forest NC 53

East Bound and Down on NC 53E through more trees.  I started signing out loud as the lonely highway miles passed under the Surly Long Haul Trucker.

Mile after mile after mile - I started to think I was back in Florida on HWY 98 (my friend Kerry and Jeanna know to what I’m referring.)

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

I must admit traffic was almost non-existent most of the day.  Not sure what roads motorist use.  I'll be finding out soon as I get ready to turn on NC 117S.  

As I slipped down the highway I did see some swamps and the Black River, which I followed for most of the day (could see it on the GPS.)

Heart 3 Comment 1
brandon spanglerswamps everywhere around here!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Bike Route 5 and the East Coast Greenway signs are posted nicely along the route.  

I humidity is pretty strong today as is the SUN, so I took advantage of the 10 minute movie about the battle at Moore's Creek - National Park visitors center. Air conditioning and a well-done movie.  Oh, water for a dollar too.  There was a beautiful trail there as well, but I didn't make time for it.

I pulled into the famous Paul's Hot Dog Place around 1 pm, grateful to get some fuel.  I had researched the place on google months ago, it was perfect.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Well, my character for the day was found at Kelly's General Store in Kelly, NC.  Cowboy was his name.  You can see why.  He volunteers at Kelly's and rides horses.  I shared my story about horse riding.  I remember it like it happened yesterday.  Got on that thing and it took off running!!!   

Heart 3 Comment 0

Cowboy laughed.  He said horses know how to get you off.  The just run until the sense you've had enough...laughing. They have a mind of their own!

He confirmed my directions to NC 210 and off I road into my trees - short ones, tall ones.....miles and miles of them.

Ralph (my brother) here is one specially for; pair of waders size large.  The had two pair!

Heart 3 Comment 1
Tamora StumAnother fun day for "Biker Dale".
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

In Wilmington now in search of my warmshowers hosts...yes

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 172 miles (277 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 3
brandon spanglernicely done! thanks cowboy!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Daniel SpanglerGlad you made it safe. Thanks for the story.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerThanks for looking.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago