Day 5 - Southport, NC to Myrtle Beach, SC - Sound-Cloud Solo Tour 2021 - CycleBlaze

May 6, 2021

Day 5 - Southport, NC to Myrtle Beach, SC

Final Overnight ‘ Myrtle Beach Travel Park

From the Captain's Bridge Port City Java 

Good morning .... Coffee and a breakfast thingy before heading out on NC 211 toward Oak Island.  Have to climb a bridge over the Intracoastal  Waterway - ugh.

Heart 3 Comment 0

9:36 am - Made it to Oak Island and Caswell Beach via NC 133.  Crazy when I was plotting this route weeks ago the map planner wouldn't let me do it.   it wanted me to take NC 211 and back track to the light house 20 miles.

Well, lesson learned don’t always do what you are told.   The weather was perfect for visiting the light and for a short stroll out to the beach.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Keith A. SpanglerIt was a long day Brandon, some crazy roads. I road a lot of sidewalks. I’m ok with that and did anticipate it. I think I have one more battle with US 17.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Hard to believe the USCG station is right there too. Beautiful even on a Sound-Cloudy day!  (Sound-Cloud Solo Tour).

Local VIP Parking - Heavy Rescue included
Heart 4 Comment 0

Well, after cruising the beach and feeling jealous for the residence there, I added out to what the locals call the “middle bridge.”   This was the route the planner wanted me to come in on, so glad I re-routed on the way in.   

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Over the IntraCoastal again and a long spin to NC 211.  This was the beginning of another stretch of busy roads.  I didn’t shot any images, it was hard enough just to maintain composer.  You have these days, but this one was long.  One cool thing did happen that was upbeat.  I had lost my way slightly going through Shalotte, NC.  It was a pass through to keep me off US 17.   Anyway, I found the route, but the cool thing was that a guy jumped out as I was riding the sidewalk to avoid cars, yelling where you going?   He was a warmshowers host that lived in the next town of Calabash.

We chatted for couple minutes and he guided me to a more direct route to Calabash rather than taking NC 179.  The route was freshly paved and easier to follow.  I blew through Calabash after snacking, making it into Myrtle Beach around 4 pm with no place to stay.  But, I got lucky.   The folks at Myrtle Beach Travel Park had a spot, the only thing was it took bravery to get there - US 17 across town has its tough spots.

I was toast by the time I arrived (75.6 miles), but it was worth it. The place is like a resort and I needed it.  Took a swim, walked the beach and had fried cinnamon buns. Hell, yes.  

Today's ride: 75 miles (121 km)
Total: 289 miles (465 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Tamora StumJealous... Have fun at the beach!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerTamora thanks for chatting with on my travels, you make me smile.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Tamora StumYou didn't tell me about the fried cinnamon buns..... yum!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerThey were so amazing. Dammm
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
brandon spanglerkeep on goin long hauler!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Daniel SpanglerKeep writing and keep pedaling.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago