Day 1 - Raleigh NC to Wade NC - Sound-Cloud Solo Tour 2021 - CycleBlaze

May 2, 2021

Day 1 - Raleigh NC to Wade NC

Plus a great overnight with a new friend...

What a welcoming at Raleigh and an outstanding first day's ride to Wade NC.  (Not sure how many miles, haven't looked it.)

First, I have to thank my newly-made, adventure-friend William - a Warmshowers Host.  William and I met thru WS, he volunteered to babysit my car while I do my tour and provide me a bed and shower pre-tour.

William is a great guy and friend!

Heart 1 Comment 0

William is a real adventurer in my book.  I won't go into all he's done, but the guy is certainly a fellow bicycle traveler.  I admired his photography of Glacier and other amazing places.   He is a avid outdoors person - hiker, kayaker etc.  

What a cool character.  You can check a story about one of his most epic tours in Adventure Cycling.  During that tour he suffered a stroke and woke up in a ditch on the side of the road. 

After eggs and coffee I left William and headed out.  The weather was excellent sunny and 70s I think.

The route can be viewed in the the interactive link shared earlier in the journal listings.

The profile of the day was downhill, but there was a couple roller coaster hills the first couple miles.  After only a couple miles .... I knew it was going to be a great day.

Heart 3 Comment 0

"Bike Route 5" signs started appearing and my route followed along most of the time.

Heart 3 Comment 0

When it didn't I'd ask why didn't it go my way.  

I am trying to mix DSLR images with my new phone, so I may be adding more pics later when I find wifi.   (Note to Jason, the phone is working great to document things, don't laugh - you told me so.)

The first pass thru town was Angier.  In an attempt not to bore you with the normal, here are some interesting views of small town America.  So, what time is it right.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

The new technology is a learning curve with keeping the batteries charged.  But, my solar panels are working great to keep things up.  

Mamma B's lifesavers - a must visit for great food....

Heart 2 Comment 0

I met some cool people along my travels.  My stop for food was one of those meetups.   I made it to a buffet 2 minutes before closing.  The counter lady was do nice.  She looked at me and knew I was HUNGRY.  You come in honey and get some food: good bless you, you have been biking all day... She blessed me when I left too.  

Heart 1 Comment 1
Daniel Spangler“His wife shellfish” that’s great
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Outside another couple stopped to say hi.  Vernon and his wife Shellfish as he called her.  No i didn't ask details.  His dad was a U.S. Coast Guardsman and worked at Oak Island Lighthouse which I hope to visit.  Clemons was their last name  he said there are a lot of Clemons around here, just ask around.... 

My overnight in Wade was unscheduled, but it ended up amazingly cool.  Hats off to the crew of Center Baptist Church.  Pastor Joe Hickson and his family were out building a new structure when I road up.  

With a hand shake and a smile friends were made with their two kids and husband.   I got a out shower and setup the tent behind the church.  Then I invited myself to help with the build.  

My View tonight!

Heart 3 Comment 0

Thank You Tamora for the nice warm notes!

Heart 3 Comment 0

What a day...wish you were here.  Might rain a little tomorrow, but that is just fine.  Breakfast in Stedman then onto White Lake.

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 52 miles (84 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 4
brandon spanglergreat stuff! enjoy it all!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Tamora StumHappy Your Day Went Perfect! xoxoxo
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Daniel SpanglerStay safe! Thanks for sharing.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Daniel SpanglerYou are welcome
Reply to this comment
2 years ago