Day 2 - Wade NC to White Lake - Sound-Cloud Solo Tour 2021 - CycleBlaze

May 3, 2021

Day 2 - Wade NC to White Lake

A whole lot of long isolated road...

Heart 4 Comment 0

After a peaceful overnight, this morning started sunny with clouds.  After a hand shake with the pastor and a wave to his wifey, out I went. Toward Stedman for breakfast and coffee.

Heart 3 Comment 0

Little did I know the terrain would remain very similar for many hours ahead...

Heart 3 Comment 0

As I sit here on the porch of a small white church, I think about how many times I've verbally been blessed by strangers.

At breakfast - Jonathon's Cafe - in Stedman, I ordered coffee and french toast.  A small place it was, but it had wifi.  Well, before I could get much done Mack sat down.  Hey can I sit here...why not right I thought. 

Not to bore you....it is raining like heck right now - like I said I was blessed.  

Heart 3 Comment 0

Well, back to Mack....he is a proud man and very interesting.   He loved to talk as much as he loved the Military.  Wearing a military camo shirt like vest, he told me his story and I shared mine.  He was a retired cop of 38 years.   He gave many colorful quotes and thoughts as we sipped java.   He was talking about a guy buying something and said, "it was as cheap as a two dollar shotgun." 

Mack was a character!  I loved it.  

It is pouring down right now and I'm hiding. Dam...lightning. Crap!!!!

Heart 2 Comment 1
Daniel Spangler“As cheap as a 2 dollar shot gun” is hilarious. I may use that.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Boy what a good decision this was!

Heart 4 Comment 3
Erin LaineAre the streaks in front of the trees raindrops? If so, that's great photo capture!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerHi Erin. Thank you for joining. If you have any question ask away. Hope you are well. Miss strava but I can't all of this electronics stuff.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith A. SpanglerErin that is rain. I felt so fortunate to have found this church just in time. There was nothing around to hide. I made a good decision because it put it down. It was almost over in this photo
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Anyway, Mack and I said our good byes after covering every topic under the NC sun. As he got in his Pilot suv he blessed me and said be safe and happy riding.  If you ever swing by here again you have a place to stay.  Up the road Mack reappeared in his driveway yelling ....that way that's right...

Anyway, how cool right. I forgot to mention Mack was an avid military re-inactor.  He goes to airshows all over acting out is love for the military how neat.  He showed me photos too.

Heart 2 Comment 0

The path after breakfast was blessed with long stretches of nothing.  Rural NC. The clouds built north and behind me - I felt something was up.  (Dan, you know what I'm talking about...Cleveland).  I needed to find shelter but there was none..not until I came to a fork in the long stretch of black top and found "the white church".

Heart 2 Comment 2
Keith A. SpanglerTo Daniel SpanglerI thought you could relate. It was just like that.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Shelter ... Within minutes the sky erupted....I was blessed....

Heart 3 Comment 2
Keith A. SpanglerTo Daniel SpanglerThank you buddy, I mean this place just appeared out of a lonely stretch of road. Just in time I must add.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 3 Comment 0

The skies are clear and I'm.on my way....White Lake or bust...

The day ended riding through the Bladen Lake State Forest.  Let me say, nothing going on in there. Traffic along this entire route was light.if non existent.  Ended up getting a free campsite at the Clearwater Campground.  Great at White Lake, big clean bathroom - private - with plenty of hot water.   Thank you staff!

Campsite and coffee on the solo stove after the rain. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 104 miles (167 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Daniel SpanglerTravel on traveler! Dodge the rain where you can.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Tamora StumGlad you found cover.... God and your Mom are watching over you.... Love ya!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago