To Amiens - Skipping About the Continent - CycleBlaze

July 30, 2022

To Amiens

Today I channeled my inner Iowan, heading north to Amiens through expansive fields of grain along small lanes and quiet roads that were often not much wider than a rail-trail. Rows of windmills rose high, their blades propelled by my old friend, Crosswind, who showed up early in the afternoon. It’s not a landscape for everyone, but I took it all in and loved most every minute of it.

 The route took me through several small rural towns of the Oise and Somme Departments in the Picardy region of France. Almost every town had a church, a town hall and a school, but for the most part there was no central square or plaza. Rather, the towns were arranged in a single long line that stretched along the road. And it was not uncommon to see working farms or barns in the middle of town, almost as if the towns grew outward between existing farms. But while the towns were small and narrow, the fields reached across the horizon.

The terrain flattened as I made my way north from Beauvais, bringing back memories of cycling through Iowa farmlands
Heart 5 Comment 0
A small rural electric tower, similar to those I'd seen in Slovenia
Heart 6 Comment 0
Église Saint-Lucien in Fontaine-Saint-Lucien
Heart 6 Comment 0
Église Saint-Lucien, in Maulers
Heart 5 Comment 0
Blue doors in Maulers
Heart 7 Comment 0
Harvest time
Heart 3 Comment 0
A field of corn in dire need of rain
Heart 1 Comment 0
The fields stretched across the horizon
Heart 6 Comment 0
This definitely could be Iowa
Heart 4 Comment 0
Église Saint-Louis in Le Crocq
Heart 4 Comment 0
Nôtre Dame du Bon Secours, at a three-way intersection
Heart 5 Comment 0

About twenty miles into the ride, not far beyond Le Crocq, I dropped down to the Le Selle River, which I followed most of the way into Amiens. The landscape was more wooded and though my views were limited, the shade and wind protection were welcome. A wedding was in progress at the church in the small town of Monsures, and I was tempted to crash the reception for a cold beverage. However, I carried on until reaching Conty where I mistakenly ordered a sugar-free coke – not only did it taste bad, it lacked the cold, carbonated sugar that  I seem to crave while touring. Nonetheless, I managed to drink it all. 

I must be close to a river
Heart 7 Comment 0
Half-timbered dwellings in Croissy-sur-Celle
Heart 4 Comment 0
Église Saint-Léger in Croissy-sur-Selle,
Heart 3 Comment 0
A wedding was underway at the Church Saint-Léger of Monsures, in Monsures
Heart 5 Comment 0
Paroisse Saint-Antoine des monts et vallées in Conty, undergoing renovations
Heart 2 Comment 0
In Conty
Heart 2 Comment 0

Before long, I was cycling through the streets of Amiens, getting the first glimpse of La Cathédrale Notre-Dame d'Amiens. Or at least the first glimpse of this Cathedral Tour – I had been to Amiens in June on a mission to return Scott Anderson’s Pendleton shirt. I made my way into the city center, past the Town Hall where I witnessed the second wedding of the day, and after checking into my hotel, I headed straight over to the Cathedral. As in Beauvais, the La Cathédrale Notre-Dame d'Amiens will get a separate post.

On the advice of the hotel clerk, I made a dinner reservation in the Quartier Saint Leu, an historic district located beneath the Cathedral on the canals and arms of the Somme River. The district dates back to the Middle Ages and is now a lively arts and cultural district with an abundance of bars of restaurants, and tourists. It was difficult to find an open reservation, so I opted for a crêperie – indulging in both a savory and sweet crêpe. It was a beautiful evening in a remarkable setting and I left full and happy.

The first spotting of La Cathédrale Notre-Dame d'Amiens on my Cathedral Tour
Heart 4 Comment 0
I witnessed my second wedding of the day at the Amiens Marie, the town hall
Heart 3 Comment 0
A row of recently built townhouses near the Cathedral in Amiens
Heart 3 Comment 0
A bookstore in the Quartier Saint Leu
Heart 2 Comment 0
There is quite a lively bar and restaurant scene along the Somme canals in the Quartier Saint Leu
Heart 4 Comment 0
A closer look at older row houses in Quartier Saint Leu
Heart 3 Comment 0
Crossing the Somme on the Pont de la Dodane on my way to dinner in the Quartier Saint Leu
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heading back to my hotel next to the Cathedral with a full stomach and a smile
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 1,971 miles (3,172 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Lucy MartinA lovely day. As you well know, in Iowa, all the churches would be Lutheran, maybe multiple flavors in each town. Really enjoying following along your tour!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauFrench cities and Iowa landscapes all in one day. Cycling doesn't get much better than that.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith KleinHi,
In my never ending quest for the perfect andouillette, one of the best I’ve ever found was served to me in Amiens. So I imagine your dinner was of top quality, too.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith KleinTo Gregory GarceauSpoken like a true Iwegian.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago