RICE-ing in Paris - Skipping About the Continent - CycleBlaze

March 9, 2022 to March 12, 2022

RICE-ing in Paris

There hasn’t been much to report since I landed in Paris three days ago and rolled my ankle getting into a taxi. I thank all those who’ve expressed concern and good wishes and I want to give an update on how things are going.

 I knew it wasn’t a typical ankle roll right as it happened – there was more pain, more loss of function. But a bit of time, ice, and ibuprofen helped ease my fears that the ankle/foot was broken. It is more likely that I sustained a high ankle sprain – so diagnosed by my sister Jeanie who has raised five D-1 athletes, each with their own share of tears and sprains.

 Adhering to her recommendation, I’ve spent most of the past three days on the couch following the RICE protocol of Rest, Ice, Compression, and Elevation. It seems to be doing the trick as the swelling and pain have greatly subsided and each day it becomes much easier to walk.

Though I’ve had offers of help from friends and neighbors, I am compelled to get up off the couch for brief trips out for food, supplies, and/or sunshine. Thankfully everything is close by. Thursday was too nice to spend all day indoors so I ventured to a neighborhood café and enjoyed a wonderful quinoa salad while basking in the sunshine. I visited my favorite cheese shop for greetings and comté while I spent yesterday afternoon with a friend from the Pasteur who stopped by my apartment with sympathy and sweets. Today I got a stylish support sleeve for my ankle, which now feels very snug and supported.

Life is good when you can enjoy a meal at a sidewalk café in Paris
Heart 2 Comment 0
Quinoa salad at Les Artisans
Heart 7 Comment 1
Swelling subsiding, colors increasing
Heart 1 Comment 0
Snug as a bug in a rug
Heart 1 Comment 0

So, spirits are high, swelling is down, and I’m confident that things will go forward as planned. Inasmuch as they ever do!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Suzanne GibsonI am relieved to hear that you are on the mend! If you can hobble about and get outdoors for a sunny seat in a caffe, life sounds ok. Hope you are fit for Portugal!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonI’m glad it’s doing better! Don’t overdue, though.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago