In Sainte-Enimie - Skipping About the Continent - CycleBlaze

October 20, 2022 to October 21, 2022

In Sainte-Enimie

October 20

The big surprise of the day was a most generous and thoughtful gift – Scott gave me his camera. I was shocked, blown away

. He said it was on a bit of life-support, and he had a replacement that he’d been carrying around for eight months. I protested, but he would have none of it, happy to solve my unexpected need/desire for a real camera. I am extremely grateful and only hope that I do both Scott and the camera proud.

Rain was in the forecast for today, with perhaps a window of outdoor opportunity between ten and two. This was the only free day in Sainte-Enimie for Scott and Rachael, so over breakfast we strategized our plans for the day. I opted to go for a hike with Rachael while Scott was keen for a ride up to the Causse Méjean, if the weather would hold. Rachael and I were more uncertain of our route. I found a candidate on a hiking app, and after some technological frustration we set off with hopes of getting somewhere with a view before the rains came.

The trail left from town, angling steeply up a paved walkway that soon became a gravel/grass track. We paused a bit, taking stock of the situation. I am certainly not in Rachael’s league when it comes to hiking, and was a little concerned that descending back down trail would be treacherous if it started to rain – it was already a bit slippery. Rachael concurred, so we turned to RWGPS Outdoor and found a somewhat suitable alternative.

Our route started out as a gravel road, but eventually became more of a hiking trail, taking us north above Sainte-Enimie and into the wooded slopes of the Causse. As we gained elevation, the open fields of the plateau were visible just ahead, beckoning us onward. However, the trail soon disappeared and we emerged onto a small road that led to a cluster of buildings, probably Boisset. By this time the wind was howling and rain threatening. We donned our rain jackets and headed back down before we got a real soaking, making it to the Bar-Restaurant across from the hotel just before the rains came.  We enjoyed our picnic lunch while listening to the patter of raindrops on the terrace awning – a lovely sound when you are safe and dry. Scott soon rolled up to join us, a little damp but a happy guy.

Rains are predicted for early afternoon, but it's dry and cloudy when Rachael and I depart for our little hike
Heart 7 Comment 0
Checking the Garmin for alternate route options
Heart 6 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonI love the photo!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The Plan B trail started out as a gravel road heading up from town to the north
Heart 4 Comment 0
Some nice views of Sainte-Enimie as we gained elevation
Heart 3 Comment 0
Higher up, longer views
Heart 2 Comment 0
The open fields of the Causse beckon
Heart 2 Comment 0
The trail disappears and we find ourselves on a paved road leading to the small hamlet of Boissett
Heart 4 Comment 0
Whaddya think - time to turn back?
Heart 7 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonAnother great photo of me, thanks!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The edge of the plateau - a fleeting glimpse is all we got
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nearing Sainte-Enimie
Heart 8 Comment 0
A happy guy
Heart 7 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonI love this one, also.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Not sure what the POI is doing there
Heart 0 Comment 0

October 21 

Scott and Rachael hit the road today, down the Tarn Gorge and onward to warmer, dryer climes. We reminisced a bit over breakfast about what a great year it's been - both cycling together and forging a true friendship. Not sure when we'll next meet, but I'm already looking forward to it.

Loading up
Heart 3 Comment 0
Checking the Garmins
Heart 3 Comment 0
Bonne route and keep smiling mon amie
Heart 8 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonYou certainly have the talent for making me smile!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Au revoir, mon ami
Heart 7 Comment 0
Merci pour tout - à prochain fois
Heart 7 Comment 0

After Scott and Rachel left, I retreated to my room to consider route options for the coming days. My original plan had been to reverse Team Anderson’s route, cycling up to the Lot and then downriver to Cahors, where I would catch a train to Paris. But Scott had put the idea of the Ardeche Gorges in my head, so I had nixed my first plan in favor of heading east through the Ardeche and over to the Rhone, where I could easily find a train connection to Paris. 

At breakfast this morning, however, Scott mentioned the weather outlook for the next four days – rain, rain, rain, rain. I was not eager to be alone in a pretty wild, unpopulated and hilly region during four days of rain. By mid-afternoon, I had abandoned the Ardeche in favor of heading west where the weather forecast was more promising.

After all that, there was still time for a short bike ride. I loaded Scott’s ride up the Causse Méjean and set out – I wasn’t sure how far I would get, but I knew I needed to get out of my room. It was a steady five mile climb up to the Causse, a little punchy in spots but generally steady at 5-6%. It was a fairly quiet ride that afforded great views, but no excitement such as a Big Horn Sheep bounding across the road. I made it up to the top of the col for a photo op, but ascended a bit higher, following Scott’s route up onto the Causse. However, I soon decided to turn around after less than a mile – it was getting a bit late and I wanted to get back before dusk.

Although I have come to enjoy climbing, I have yet to embrace descents. I’m getting more comfortable, but still find some a bit frightening. This descent leaned toward uncomfortable, in part because there was a large and deep ditch on my side of the road – no place to go should a car or truck come too close. I nevertheless made it safely back to the Auberge de Moulin where I enjoyed another fine meal, but missed the lively conversation.

Heading up to the Causse Méjean
Heart 4 Comment 0
View of the Tarn River below
Heart 3 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonBeautiful photo!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
My route tomorrow will climb the slope of this facing hillside - if you look closely you can see the road carved into the slope, especially near the top
Heart 7 Comment 0
There were a couple of switchbacks on the way up
Heart 6 Comment 0
Nearing the top
Heart 3 Comment 0
Another sighting of the Tarn River as it heads through the Tarn Gorge
Heart 4 Comment 0
Vivien George loves these photo ops
Heart 8 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonDarn, I wish I had done this ride so I could get a photo at the top of the Col. Maybe you can photoshop me in.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Looking out over the Causse Méjean
Heart 5 Comment 0
Looking out over the Causse Méjean
Heart 1 Comment 0
My one stop during the descent
Heart 3 Comment 1
Safely down the mountain
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 11 miles (18 km)
Total: 3,359 miles (5,406 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Lucy Martin๐Ÿ’— such a beautiful tour youโ€™re having ๐Ÿ’—
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetNice photos (as always). It's the photographer, not the camera, but a nice camera is nice to use!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonIโ€™m so glad you got out to do this ride!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rachael AndersonThanks for all your comments on the pics Rachael - the ride up to the plateau was great, even if cut short a bit. And I agree that I got some great shots of you. So keep smiling!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Jacquie GaudetThanks Jacquie!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Lucy MartinIt truly has a been special way to cap off this year
Reply to this comment
1 year ago