To Saint-Geniez-d'Olt - Skipping About the Continent - CycleBlaze

October 22, 2022

To Saint-Geniez-d'Olt

Today I said good-bye to the Tarn River and cycled up and over the Causse to reunite with the Lot River in Saint-Geniez-d'Olt. This was a reverse of the route Scott and Rachael did a few days ago on their way to Sainte-Enimie, and they gave the route through the Sauterre Causse rave reviews. It was a beautiful fall day, brilliant blue sky and temperatures had cooled a bit from the unseasonably warm days earlier in the week. I was excited about the day's journey and ready to get back on tour.

The first climb of the day started right out of the gate, a five mile ascent of Montée de Sauveterre which, according to signage at the bottom, averaged 5.8%, topping out at 11.6%. I crossed the bridge over the Tarn River for the final time and began climbing immediately. The steeper sections were early on, and after about a mile settled to a fairly steady grade that was gentle enough to stop and restart without difficulty. And I stopped frequently - for photos, for ooohs and for aaaahs. As I gained elevation, the Tarn River shrank to a small ribbon and headed southeast through the Gorge – it was a spectacular sight.

A photo from yesterday, reminding me of today's first challenge - Montée Sauveterre
Heart 5 Comment 0
Departing Auberge de Moulin, my home for the past three nights, and a place I can recommend
Heart 5 Comment 0
Last crossing of the Tarn River
Heart 3 Comment 0
A farewell nod to Sainte-Enimie
Heart 6 Comment 0
On the way up - at this point, just a small section of Tarn River is barely visible on the left
Heart 5 Comment 0
A close look at the Saint-Chely bridge - with a couple of folks appearing to snap some photos of their stunning surroundings
Heart 7 Comment 4
Scott AndersonLook at that zoom! I’m so envious.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonYou must be missing it - I think the zoom is even better than my newer, broken version of the camera! I'm so grateful to have had it this past week but I'm happy to send it back your way, just need an address in Menton or Nice. Or Portland or Tucson.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Susan CarpenterNope. Just tweaking you for the fun of it. It’s yours.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonThought that might be the case - tweak away!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Looks like there might be trouble brewing on the right. Roadside signage and rock-strewn shoulders are constant reminders of the threat of rock slides, but the damaged retaining wall looks a bit more ominous
Heart 4 Comment 0
Looking back towards Sainte-Enimie
Heart 3 Comment 0
A look down at the road through the Tarn Gorge - I think the river is hidden in the shadows
Heart 2 Comment 0
A look down as the Tarn River winds through the Gorges de Tarn. Amazing to think I rode up through the Gorge just a few days ago
Heart 4 Comment 1
ann and steve maher-wearyWow Susan, what a route you have had today! Very envious! And the climbing, wow!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Another look
Heart 2 Comment 0
Susan and VG at the top
Heart 10 Comment 0

After the initial five mile climb, the route wound atop the Causse de Sauveterre, following the marked Circuit du Causse de Sauveterre. The plateau was a mix of forests and verdant fields punctuated with yellows and red. It was a Saturday, and the hills were filled with the baying of hounds, calls of hunters, and the blast of shotguns. After slowly gaining elevation for a couple of miles, the route dropped down along the L’Urugne River toward La Canourgue where I spotted a grassy area with a henge and a nearby picnic table. Great spot for a quick rest and a snack.

At the top of the Causse de Sauveterre
Heart 5 Comment 0
On the Causse du Sauveterre
Heart 2 Comment 0
On the Causse du Sauveterre
Heart 4 Comment 0
Warning - hunters are about, but I'm not quite sure what they're after
Heart 0 Comment 1
Lucy MartinLooks like wild boar
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Neigh, not me!
Heart 6 Comment 0
Along the Circuit du Causse de Sauveterre
Heart 6 Comment 0
Starting down
Heart 2 Comment 0
Whizzing by me - he was almost completely around the far bend before I could get a second shot off
Heart 5 Comment 0
A very nice picnic spot - that makes two henge picnic stops for the tour.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Rested in body but not thinking clearly, I headed off in the wrong direction after lunch, but it was not long before RWGPS notified me of my error and I was back on track. I passed a large peloton of cyclists heading up to the Sauveterre Causse, and stopped in La Canourgue for a coffee and a look around town before my reunion with the Lot River, just beyond Banassac-Canilhac. It was a nice run through the valley to Saint-Laurent-d'Olt, where the second climb of the day began. This climb was much less fun – steeper and without the spectacular views to make me sing.

I crossed into another regional park, Parc Naturel Régional de l’Aubrac, and encountered a few day riders but the big excitement came when I happened upon a traffic jam of hunters near Pomayrols. The blazing orange nearly blinded me, and they pretty much ignored me, but I did find out that they were from a local hunting club and were after wild boar. No luck today. I bid them good-day and headed off, finally reaching the Lot after four miles down a twisting, steep, and narrow road.

To the Causse!
Heart 8 Comment 0
Jeanne d'Arc - it's been a while
Heart 5 Comment 0
Saint-Laurent-d'Olt
Heart 5 Comment 0
Add Parc de l'Aubrac to my list of regional parks
Heart 6 Comment 0
A pair of happy cyclists
Heart 3 Comment 0
The climb up offered an occasional view of the rugged terrain, dense woods...
Heart 4 Comment 0
...and faraway meadows
Heart 4 Comment 0
I like the way the sunlight illuminated this small village - maybe Pomayrols?
Heart 6 Comment 1
Scott AndersonI don’t think so. Pomyrols is larger, with a large chateau in addition to its church. Maybe La Boulesque?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The blazing orange almost broke the camers
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Return to the Lot River
Heart 4 Comment 0

It was a short ride to my hotel in Saint-Geniez-d'Olt, where I checked-in without checking out the town. It had been a pretty memorable day, capped by a return to what I now considered an old friend, the Lot River. She would be with me at least another day, and perhaps more.

My old friend, the Lot
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 3,394 miles (5,462 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonWhat a great and challenging ride! The photos are wonderful.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago