Bethlehem - The tenth step ... SISA Episode II - CycleBlaze

Bethlehem

Today we started our trek back to the Eastern Cape exactly a month after we started from outside Port Elizabeth.  It was a relatively easy if not exciting ride from Clarens to Bethlehem.  There was no shoulder for almost the entire way and the road was quite busy at times.  None the less we weren't too stressed.  What did stress me out a bit was finding out that I had left some socks and underwear behind.  Now I am left with only one pair of socks so I will have to make a plan.  The underwear is no problem because I had mistakenly packed too many pairs to start off with.

Leaving Clarens. Autumn comes early at these higher altitudes.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The farmers are also getting ready for winter with many fields cut and baled.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gentle rolling hills and a slight tailwind made for easy cycling.
Heart 1 Comment 0
While relaxing and enjoying an early lunch on this little patch of shaded grass we got news that I had left a few things behind at last night's digs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wilde dagga or lion's tail (Leonotis leonurus) is a favourite garden plant in South Africa because it is irresistable to sunbirds of which South Africa has fifteen resident species, most of which are beautifully coloured.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The plan for tomorrow is to head up the N5 to Senekal dependant but first I need to come up with a plan to retrieve or replace the socks I left behind.  Bethlehem is a very neat and organised little city with all the mod cons. It has a modern shopping mall with all the major chain stores including a Woolworths Food Market where we wre able to buy a few goodies to vary our diet and there is a Cape Union Mart, which is a camping and hiking shop where I can replace my socks if necessary.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 km (26 miles)
Total: 1,172 km (728 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0