Day ride to Rifugio Sapienza - Sicilian Circuit - CycleBlaze

April 12, 2023

Day ride to Rifugio Sapienza

Ascent of Etna South

We had today in our itinerary to ride up Etna, but it was always “weather permitting” and, up until very recently, the weather forecast hadn’t looked promising.  But today was perfect!  So, despite our residual tiredness from two tough days of loaded riding to get here, the ride was on!

I’d created several possible routes for this (and booked our stay in Zafferana Etnea, which seemed an ideal starting point). We chose to do the one that minimized riding on the busy highway between here and Nicolosi. We hadn’t enjoyed it yesterday and had no desire to repeat it if it could be avoided. 

This meant, as we discovered, a very steep climb from Poggiofelice, where we turned off said busy highway after 2 km. We both had to push. As we discovered on our return, even the main road up is pretty steep at this point—but not as steep. 

Once we got past the super-steep section, it was a pretty and quiet ride. It was still quiet after we passed Tarderia and joined Via Catania about a km further uphill than we’d joined it yesterday going down.  There was almost no traffic at all. 

Orchard south of Etna.
Heart 4 Comment 0
At the side of the road
Heart 1 Comment 0
On Via Simita
Heart 5 Comment 0
On Via Simita
Heart 5 Comment 0
Cones! Looking toward Catania
Heart 2 Comment 0
About time I included one of Al’s bike portraits
Heart 4 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraNice bike, Al!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The south face has very little snow, though the road signs say snow tires or chains are mandatory until April 15. I doubt any of the vehicles we’ve seen have them.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Crateri Silvestri inferiori (left) and superiori (right). It’s possible to walk on these without a guide or fee and if I’d brought my proper camera instead of just my phone, you’d be able to zoom in and see people on their rims.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Just before the point where our uptrack on Via Catania joined SP 92, the two riders from AG2R Citroën, followed by their team van, came zipping down. Not only are these two not riding Giro di Sicilia, which started yesterday, neither are any other riders from that team. 

Just before Crateri Silvestri…
Heart 1 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraAnother nice bike!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
…was this little “Madonnina del ciclista” so I had to get a shot with my bike.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Al had gone ahead because he was getting cold waiting for me and wanted to get to the top and put his warm layers on. I didn’t see him or his bike as I rode all the way to Rifugio Sapienza, where I spotted an e-mtb business. I headed over there and had a nice chat with the young man working there, his first day. I wasn’t trying to chat up a good-looking young Italian (probably younger than my sons) but was asking him if they happened to have an SPD cleat bolt. I’d noticed on the ride up that I was missing one. It’s probably been missing since yesterday, not that I could have done anything about it as Sicily doesn’t have many bike shops. The rental place didn’t; all their bikes have flat pedals.  We even looked in their miscellaneous parts box but no luck.  At least the remaining bolt was tight.

Once I found Al (he’d ridden to the Rifugio and back to the Crateri without us seeing each other), we walked around the smaller, lower crater (inferiori). That was enough in cycling shoes, not to mention having just climbed 1400 metres on our bikes. 

Looking towards Crateri Silvrestri superiori
Heart 4 Comment 0
I was regretting not putting my tights on first. The wind was strong and cold.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonGreat photo of the two of you!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Rachael AndersonThe fellow I asked took several good ones.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking at other volcanic features
Heart 1 Comment 0
I got a kick out of this. We bought Knog Scouts (AirTag devices) for our bikes before the trip and are them when we leave our bikes locked up, as we did for this walk. (My Lock Screen is our dear departed Katie.)
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Posing with the only sign with the elevation on it, before descending.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The road down, which all the tour buses and private vehicles in the parking lots must have taken because only a dozen or so passed us on the way up, started off beautifully. Then the surface changed and became bone-shakingly rough, though it was still asphalt. It was really hard to see the cracks and holes because my glasses were bouncing. Many stops were needed to admire the surroundings and let the body recover. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Our B&B is on the top floor of what’s probably called a villa. It’s like a suburban house at home but there are at least 3 other living units in it, in addition to the B&B. It also has a large garage (where our bikes were stored, a lawn and garden (with an orange tree, the source of the fresh-squeezed juice we were served in the mornings) and a hose. Al used this, with permission, to rinse off the accumulated mud from the past 4 weeks. I went to the supermarket for beer and chips. 

The view from the terrace where we enjoyed our post-ride beverage and snack.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Time now to try and deal with my cleat issue. After reading about Susan Carpenter’s experience last year in Puglia, I’d decided to carry a spare cleat bolt. Unfortunately, I forgot to pack one and Al didn’t have one either. Google told me there was a Trek Premium shop, Le Due Ruote, fairly close to our location, and open. Less than an hour’s walk, “mostly flat” according to Google. I contacted them; yes, the shop existed, it would be open until 8 p.m., and they had a bolt for me. The walk was not flat at all, but I expected that as we are on the side of a mountain. It was worth it to me because it’s a lot easier to walk unencumbered on a pleasant evening than to be pushing my loaded bike (or riding it in trail runners for any distance). I should add that I’ve been riding in SPD shoes for decades and this is the first time I’ve lost a cleat bolt. 

Which bolt is new? Yes, I need new cycling shoes. Summer project.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Rich FrasierI had this same problem a couple of years ago. Fixing it involved a similarly long walk, but luckily for me in Orleans, France, which is a lot flatter than where you are. I carry not one but TWO extra bolts now! That probably means I'll never lose one again in my lifetime. Cheap insurance though...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonGlad you found a replacement!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

When I got back, we ate our leftovers from last night for a light dinner and retired. 

I stopped my Garmin and saved my ride before putting it in my pocket for the walk. I’ll join the files when I get home.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Rich FrasierYou two are amazing! Kudos on a big ride!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 km (27 miles)
Total: 1,102 km (684 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonGreat that you got up there! I remember this as one of th3 hardest climb we’ve done, starting from Catania.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonCongratulations on a tough ride! The photos are great!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago