Road Closed: HA!  NOT! - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2023

Road Closed: HA!  NOT!

Kankakee is a pretty spread out town. Took me eight miles to leave it.  Lots is railroad tracks in town. Not sure which line the “City of New Orleans” ran on and I bet many of the tracks back in those days are long gone. 

No trails today, only roads. Instead of following my 2021 route I let google do the planning. It was a nice ride. Even took me through a Fish and Wildlife Preserve that had the best roadway I have been on since leaving Seattle June 1.  At one point west of Rensellaer google wanted me to go on a road just south of the one I took. I chose to ignore it as I had been on that one before and had a ton of garbage trucks bringing garbage from Chicago to one of the largest landfills I’ve ever seen. So I stayed on my route to avoid the trucks. However at one point I encountered a Road  Closed sign……so I ignored that too. 

Seems they were tearing out blacktop to a depth of about six inches and laying concrete in its place. I jumped on the side that had been removed and rode for several miles car free. One supervisor in a pick up told me to turn around but I ignored him too. A guy in a concrete mixer said I had balls riding on a closed road. But when I got to where the actual construction was taking place several guys directed me through. One guy was so excited when I told him I was riding Seattle to Maryland, he ran around my bike several times showing his buddy all the stuff I was carrying. He couldn’t believe what I was doing. He was a bit hyper so maybe he had too much coffee….or sun…..or something else!   When the construction was over and the road opened up I ran into…….all the Chicago garbage trucks I was trying to avoid.  Seems they changed the entrance to the dump.  Who knew?!?!? 

Oh, and I crossed into Indiana today. State number  nine. Four more to go!  Indiana is sort of like Iowa……lots of corn and beans, some cattle, and a few horses. It is however flatter than Iowa, at least for now. And there are more trees.   Tomorrow I am shooting for Rochester Indiana, but I’ll decide in the morning. 


Rensellaer has lots of brick wall art.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
White Castle factory
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 2,765 miles (4,450 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltLong as you stay in northern IN, it should be pretty flat. Having lived and pedaled in southern IN, it is definitely not flat. Just stay north of Indy!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago