The 5 W's - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

May 26, 2023

The 5 W's

Quote of the day:  “If you don’t go when you wanna go, when you do go you’ll find you’ve gone.” Burt Munro, Worlds Fastest Indian

So everyone wants to know the 5 W's....Who,What, Where, When, and Why.  Not to bore anyone I will be short.  I am 65 and have been retired for a few years now.  I have always wanted to do a US crossing either on foot or bike.  But life gets in the way so never did.  Been loosely thinking about this ride for at least 4-5 years.  Now it is time.  I have been riding recumbent since about 2003 but wanted to tour on some gravel/off road areas so purchased my first diamond frame since 1976....a Surly Ogre I call Shrek.  The plan was to start on the west coast and travel to home in Maryland.  I considered starting in San Diego where my son was stationed, but decided on Seattle when he left the Navy. I have done 14 RAGBRAI's and in 2021 rode from my Maryland home on Delmarva to Minnesota to meet up with my RAGBRAI team for the ride across Iowa.  I have also done some solo touring around NE Iowa and SE Minnesota as well as the C&O, GAP, and Natchez Trace.  This ride was to take place in 2022 but a fall from a ladder and an injury to my already bad right knee ended that dream.  Now I pedal with a Titanium knee prosthesis....Steel bike and titanium knee with my all my gear makes for a heavy load, slow going, and long days.  

At this point I have packed and shipped my bike to Seattle and fly out on the 30th myself.  I hope to start, after reassembling my bike/gear, no later then June 2nd.  The plan is to head east on the Palouse to Cascade Trail, then down to Missoula, Yellow Stone, Cody, Devils Tower, Custer, Wall Drug, and the Cowboy Trail into Iowa for RAGBRAI.  After Iowa I plan to either head home on the Great American Rail Trail or up through Wisconsin/Michigan/Canada to the Erie Canal and down through NY/PA to MD after visiting friends at the Finger Lakes.  But that is getting ahead of myself.  We shall see what happens.  

Am I ready?  NO!  Other than shipping my bike I have not packed yet.  I have not been riding much as I have been busy....Life getting in the way again.  So I will either get in shape as I travel or.......who knows.  Am I worried?  YES!  I am a flat lander and have never ridden out west in the mountains and will be in grizzly land.  And besides, I am old.  But as a friend has said, If you don't go now you will never go. 

Wish me luck.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 15
Comment on this entry Comment 12
Rich FrasierGood luck, Timothy! :)
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Timothy DaleTo Rich FrasierThanks. I’ll need it.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
David HeisnerMight see you out there Timothy.
I’m getting into Seattle on the 5th.
Where did you send your bike? I am planning to take mine on the jet from Chicago.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Timothy DaleTo David HeisnerI’m staying with a warm showers host for a couple days while I get my bike and gear ready. He owns a metal fabrication company so I sent my bike to his address. Are you riding the Palouse?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Timothy DaleTo David HeisnerI see you are thinking of doing the trans am after riding the coast. I you wish I can send you my route in ridewithgps. I will is the Palouse to Cascade trail, and bits of the ACA PPP/L&C/TA routes as well as the Cowboy. In Iowa I plan to do RAGBRAI then most likely take the GART to DC and home. I would love to have company if you would like to join me.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
David HeisnerLooks like we’re taking different routes and I won’t be setting off from Seattle until the 7th. I’m going to stay north on the Northern Tier after I get up to Annacortes, then drop down into Minnesota. Have a great adventure!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Timothy DaleTo David HeisnerTail Winds!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
David HeisnerYes, to Tail Winds!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Randy JohnsonFair Winds and Tail Winds my friend!!!! Wish I was going with you, of course it would be a bit slower LOL. I'll be watching you!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Timothy DaleTo Randy JohnsonThank you. Again, come join me somewhere along the way.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Timothy DaleTo David HeisnerI lucked out and found a warm showers host that also has a metal fabrication shop. The shop is called cycle blaze. Check out Colin Stevens on one of the showers.com.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Timothy DaleTo Timothy DaleSorry it’s not cycle blaze. It’s cycle fab
Reply to this comment
11 months ago