Trusting Google Maps and Not Looking Forward to Predicted Rain - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

August 4, 2023

Trusting Google Maps and Not Looking Forward to Predicted Rain

As I have mentioned I generally do not trust google maps when it comes to cycling routes. I have had it take me on some busy roads and roads that haven’t existed in a hundred years. But it is actually doing a good job now. I have used it instead of following my previous and planned route and have been pleased. 

Not a lot of spectacular scenery here in rural Indiana. Corn and beans along gently rolling hills with barns and farm houses scattered about. Pretty in it’s own way but not exciting.  I am working my way to the next rail trail, the Nickel Plate Trail. This should take me from Rochester IN to Peru where I go onto roads to get to the Sweetser Switch Trail in Converse IN.  My problem now is the rain is again catching up to me. I thought I was done with that. 

It’s supposed to rain tomorrow night…..no problem……I should be someplace for the night by 5pm. But Sunday and Monday look like drenchers and I’d like to wait that out indoors. There are no WarmShowers hosts nearby.  Maybe a motel?!?  Have to play it as it comes. 

Frank S would be proud of me……I rely heavily on both my phone and my Garmin GPS for navigating. The on/off button on my Garmin died. It’s just a rubber piece covering a small internal switch and I guess the rubber gave up its life. So I removed said rubber and replaced it with a piece of rubber cut from the handle of my tooth brush. Fit nice and tight and worked. To hold it in place and hopefully waterproof it I applied some silicone caulking I found in the garage of my last WarmShowers host. It set up over night and fingers crossed will get me home. As Frank says…..adapt. 
I’ve been riding with another rider doing the GART, Rick C.  We’ve  been messaging back and fourth for a while on Facebook and finally met in person last night at that night WarmShowers. He is faster then me, like everyone one else I meet and is doing longer days. My AGM just won’t tolerate more than 60 miles or so a day. But I may have to suck it up and do more tomorrow to avoid the upcoming storms. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Hey Frank. You need this.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Dinner.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Warm showers house under construction. Ducks Unlimited bathroom theme.
Heart 3 Comment 0

PS: At dinner.  me- this is the biggest dammed chicken breast I’ve ever seen. Rick- that’s cause it’s a turkey breast. 

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 2,825 miles (4,546 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0