Rainy Rest Day - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

August 7, 2023

Rainy Rest Day

The rain is mostly gone. A few clouds remain. Tomorrow promises to be clear and not as warm as before the front moved through. I spent the day resting, feeding my face, watching the boob tube, and arranging overnight accommodations for the next few days. I have secured three out of four nights. Thursday will have to take care of itself though my plan is to camp at the free cycle trail campground set up by the town of London Ohio. If you’re headed there Thursday please save me a place to set up my tent. 

One of the shows I watched was ‘Good Will Hunting’.  I love Robin Williams comedy but I think his true genius was in his dramatic roles. His acting was beyond. Even his facial expressions were able to portray the message at hand like no other actor. 

My favorite RW movies: Good Will Hunting, Patch Adams, Good Morning Vietnam, Mrs.Doubtfire, Awakenings, Hook, Dead Poets Society, and the very odd What Dreams May Come.  And I have recently been finding Mork and Mindy out there streaming once in a while……much of it improvised!!!

Robin Williams took his own life this month in 2014. Hard to believe it has been that long and odd how tv/the internet is capable of keeping people alive and warping our sense of time.  Apparently he had been suffering for quite sometime with depression, anxiety, insomnia, and memory loss. He had been diagnosed with Parkinson’s and his autopsy revealed Lewy Body Dementia.  Very sad and a great loss. 

Did you know he was a cyclist?  And he had quite a collection of fine bicycles?  

Heart 2 Comment 0

That was a bit of a downer.   So here is one of my favorite RW monologues:  https://youtu.be/14NQIq4SrmY

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Frank SowaAs I've said to my SAINTED wife many times "you never know what a person is going through just by looking at them ...." Robin Williams is a great example, who would have ever guessed that his life would end the way it did. I also point to Bruce Willis and many, many others who we pass or see on a daily basis. We just don't know what challenges they have faced or are facing. I find, many times, people are upbeat and want to present a "happy" face and they try to avoid burdening others w/their challenges. Still I wonder how many "who would have thought ..." endings may have turned out differently if that person had reached out for help or at least revealed their challenge w/others who more times than not are willing to help.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Timothy DaleTo Frank SowaSo true. And yes she is.

Call me if you need anything.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago