Cardinals and Greenways. - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

August 8, 2023

Cardinals and Greenways.

ok, my trust of google maps is no more. From my rest days motel it took me on a back road and instructed me to turn onto a road that is really an entrance to a large warehouse. If not for the gait and barbed wire fencing I might have gone for it. Luckily there was a grassy strip of land on the opposite side of the warehouse where I could walk the two blocks or so to the road google was trying to take me to. But then a few miles later it instructed me to turn east onto a dead end road, go to the end and make a u turn. No, I didn’t do that. I went west, the correct way.  So I am Leary of google maps and will probably just go back to following the route I did two years ago but in reverse. 

Today was a somewhat long day at 74 miles but I was on trails most of the way. No worries about traffic so little stress. The Cardinal Greenway is the longest rail trail in Indiana at over 60 miles. It is owned and maintained by a private not for profit organization. It is very well maintained having a nice asphalt surface, trail heads every several miles with porta pottys and benches in shade, and several bike repair stands. I would recommend it to anyone interested in a nice trail. There are a number of small towns along its course but services such as restaurants are limited. Water was only at the end near Richmond Indiana. 

I met and rode  with a pharmacist who also is from Maryland and who started his ride doing RAGBRAI. He is basically doing the same route but will end at his home near Columbia.  Bruce by name, riding a Kona Sutra, with a bit lighter load than mine. Im still using everything I brought and would not be as comfortable had I brought less, but in the future I will need to trim down. Anyway we will ride together for a bit and see how it goes. 

Dayton Ohio is our next stop.   I have a few pics from today mostly on my camera so I will need to transfer them tomorrow. Here’s all I have on my phone:

1830s Church and cemetery
Heart 2 Comment 0
On church
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Selfie
Heart 1 Comment 0
Veterans memorial in Richmond Indiana
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 74 miles (119 km)
Total: 2,967 miles (4,775 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0