Day Off Blues - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

August 6, 2023

Day Off Blues

A day off once a week is what most folks doing this recommend. And it’s been a week since my last break so I needed it. But it’s not easy. I mean there’s really not much to do and I am not one to just sit around.  And being alone is even tougher. 

But I got the rear shifter cable changed out on Shrek and Clunk and my AGM got some rest. I gerry rigged a bicycle work stand so the rear wheel was off the ground and I could adjust the gears. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

I also cleaned and lived the chain and adjusted the brakes. 

This motel is in a food desert. There’s a Wendy’s, McDs, Arby’s, and Subway. I ate at Wendy’s, first time in maybe 30 years. Bought salads and junk food at the Flying J food mart.  Then I went to Subway where I was greeted (after being called to the counter from the back room) by a posted off teen who didn’t even look up at me before barking “what kinda bread ya want”.  Needless to say I was not spending money there and walked out. 

It’s supposed to rain all day tomorrow so it might be slim Pickens for food again as these places are a quarter mile away. Tuesday should be clear so I’ll head to Richmond IN then to Dayton. I have overnight accommodations both nights.  After that…..who knows. 

Worlds largest Dollar General.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Randy JohnsonDid you go in???? Oh the joys!!! LoL
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltSo you are coming through Dayton... I live only a mile and a half from the junction of Creekside bike path and Iron Horse bike path. Creekside (with a detour currently at that point) makes a turn from south to east, and then roughly parallels US 35 to Xenia.

If I know your approximate pass through time, I might be able to meet up, possibly at Eastwood Park, where you might pick up Creekside.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Timothy DaleI have a WarmShowers host in Dayton. I don’t yet know when I will leave from Richmond. Watching the weather.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Timothy DaleTo Bill ShaneyfeltI’m staying on Jennette. Don’t know arrival time.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Timothy DaleThat is really close to Creekside! Maybe about half a mile past the detour.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago