Rain, Wind, and Tunnels…Type2 fun at its best - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2023

Rain, Wind, and Tunnels…Type2 fun at its best

Type 2 fun: The name given to the feeling of enjoymentand nostalgia when reflecting on an event that was a negative experience at the time, but is humorous or fun to look back on.

My plan for today was to leave my little cabin at the Pahaska Tepee as early as possible, as rain was predicted around 1 PM.   The “resort” restaurant opens at 7 o’clock, so I figured I’d get a warm breakfast as there really is nothing between this place  and Cody Wyoming. Unfortunately I didn’t get to breakfast till about 730. Although the place was not particularly crowded service was incredibly slow. I didn’t get out of there for another hour or so. As I left three RV campers pulled into the parking lot and two tour buses. Those  people will not get out until lunchtime, at least. Although the cabin was well-kept and clean/quaint the food at the restaurant was pretty bad. Toast was overdone. Hashbrowns were burned. The omelette was bland at best. I would not recommend it if you’re going there to eat.

The day started out cloudy and dreary as it has been most of the past week or so. Thankfully, the temperature was a bit warmer than it has been at 48. My ride today would take me downhill all the way to Cody. Well there were some short up hills that I had to climb, but generally the entire route was downhill. About 28 miles into the ride is a “town” called Wapiti.  Actually, it’s more like a convenience store on the main road and individual houses spread about the sloping hill sides. The red barn convenience store was pretty rundown. About all they had that was warm to eat was microwave food. I nuked a double cheeseburger and washed it down with lays potato chips and Dr Pepper. 


After leaving the East gate of Yellowstone, national park, the road travels through national forest until Wapati. I stopped at an information/visitor center at the Shoshone national forest. The lady there told me that this was the very first national forest in the nation. The first ranger station was built there in 1903 and it’s still standing and in used.  The geology in this area is completely different from that found in Yellowstone.  The hills and eroded cliffs here appear to be of a muddy consistency. I’m not a volcanologist, but I assume this is the result of phreatic eruptions with super heated mud and rock fused together as it cools. The road I travel followed a deep wide canyon at the bottom of which was the Shoshone river. Some of the rock formations were quite interesting. There was one that looked exactly like the sphinx in Egypt. It’s hard to imagine the forces involved in eroding away layer upon layer of rock to form what we see today. I imagine most of the erosion occurred over millennia as ice melted during the various ice ages. 

The weatherman said I would have a tail wind today. However, he was incorrect. I had another headwind so even though I was headed downhill my average speed was still only about 10 to 11 mph. After my gas station microwaved cheeseburger it started to drizzle so I donned my rain gear. Shortly down the road I could see the Buffalo Bill reservoir and beyond that a large domed shaped mountain. Most of the mountain tops alongside the canyon/valley were covered in low-lying clouds. It was obvious that the rain was going to get harder as I traversed around the reservoir but I had no idea how hard. About 18 or 20 miles out from Cody it started to raining much harder. There was no shelter to be found other than an occasional vault toilet at the Buffalo Bill state park. I could’ve sheltered there however, I knew it was going to rain the remainder of the day and I didn’t want to stand around in cold wet clothes and become hypothermic so I continued on towards Cody.

It was quite alarming when thunder and lightning started around the mountain beyond the reservoir.  One of my biggest fears is being struck by lightning but I figured I was in the lowest part of the valley, so I was probably OK. Do bicycle tires insulate you from lightning strikes? I doubt it. The mild headwind that I had previously became stronger as the storm front approached. If rain, lightning and thunder was not bad  enough, I was warned of a tunnel up ahead. In my planning this trip I remember reading about a tunnel, but I did not think it was here. I also remember reading that it was uphill, depending on which way one traveled. I was hoping I was going the right way and will be going downhill.  A few miles from the tunnel the wind really picked up and became a cross wind blowing me from the shoulder into the right lane at least twice. As I approached the tunnel, I was struck head on  by what had to be a 50 mile an hour wind. It was all I could do to hold onto the bike and not fall.  I didn’t know if this was wind coming out of the tunnel or wind that had struck the face of the mountain and formed a downdraft toward the road and me. I was just barely able to continue on and get into the tunnel, but when I did I discovered that the wind had stopped. 

Inside, the tunnel was lighted and downhill. Luckily a pick up truck was behind me and stayed six or seven car lengths back slowing traffic behind him. The right lane was flooded along the gutter  almost the entire length of the tunnel. I had to ride in the middle of the lane. Being downhill I was probably doing 20 or 25 mph but my Garman doesn’t read the GPS signal underground. Coming out of the tunnel I was prepared for another gust of wind which never happened however there were two more smaller tunnels I had to go through yet. After the last tunnel, I was struck by a blast of wind from my left, forcing me off the shoulder. It didn’t last long and turned into a tailwind for the downhill stretch all the way to Cody. Thank goodness for tail wings because I was going almost as fast as the vehicular traffic coming into town. The rain continued pounding and the streets could barely handle the flood of water. I stopped as I entered town to consult the internet and  find a place to stay. Camping was not an option. All the motels listed on Google Maps were $200 or more. The best western was listed as 128. I headed there as fast as I could. Unfortunately the 128 price was incorrect. Again I paid $200 for a room. I sure hope the weather improves from here on out so I can get some camping in before my bank account is emptied.

I haven’t really looked at tomorrow’s route, or the towns I’ll be going through because I haven’t really had Internet service for the past few days. I’ll do that later tonight. I didn’t take too many photos today, but I’ll try to download them in a little while.

Stay dry out there.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Elk herd

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

In the middle of nowhere 

Heart 3 Comment 1
Mark BinghamThis is a fantastic shot!

And also: what a day!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0

Smith Mansion 

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 997 miles (1,605 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kar SheltonSorry to hear the weather has been so brutal. Doug and I also have a Shoshone-to-Cody-road-trip-in-a-wicked-storm story to swap with you one day. We snapped many of the same pics on the way to Cody. Doug was fascinated by the Big Boy in the middle of nowhere, too! Go figure. Be safe out there!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Timothy DaleTo Kar SheltonI gotta hear that story. Get up with Frank so we can arrange a get together!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago