Got an itch. - Across the US on Steel and Titanium - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2023

Got an itch.

New Philadelphia to the Swimmin Hole on Panhandle Trail (can’t disclose its location, sorry) ……64 miles and 2264 feet of climbing…….hills and traffic.   Only had one rail trail getting to the Panhandle, the Conotton Trail and it is only about nine miles long.  After riding on busy Rt 39 to Sherrodsville we took to back roads which meant steeper hills. At one point we were on gravel with 10% grades that we walked up as our rear tires could get no traction.  Near Hopedale we gave up on the back roads and took to Rt 22 which is a dual lane 70 mph highway with a shoulder. Noisy with speeding  vehicles but not bad til we got closer to Steubenville.

The route from Steubenville into Weirton was quite the trip. Not only were we on dial lane highway but there were on/off ramps everywhere and  rush hour traffic. Luckily the bridge we used to cross the Ohio River had the right lane closed and we rode there til entering West Virginia.  I wish I had a video. It was quite exhilarating !!!!  Horns beeping, red necks yelling at us. I had a blast and didn’t get killed!!!  

My rear tire has had a slow leak for a few days. My original pump died so I had to buy a cheep one at Dicks. Good thing I did too. On the Conotton Trail I noticed my pedal stroke became bouncy. I couldn’t figure it out as I usually have a very smooth cadence. I tried a number of gears and rpm’s but nothing helped. Then I looked down to see my rear tire was about to flat.  I had been ignoring it and just pumping it up for a couple days cause sometimes things fix themselves….. so I told myself. But this could not be ignored any longer. I stopped on a covered bridge and began the arduous task of changing the tube. If not for all the gear this would be simple, but all the stuff I carry has to come off before the bike can be flipped to remove the rear wheel.   On first inspection the only thing on the inside of the tire that could cause a flat was a small bump of rubber which I sanded flat. So I put in a new tube and proceeded to use the little cheap pump to pump up the tire….and 1000 pumps later I was ready to put all my gear back into its proper place. But as I started off I noticed the tire was again low. Damn!!! I missed something and had to start all over.  A more thorough inspection of the tire (this time using my cheater glasses) revealed the tinniest of wires just barely penetrating the tire. These wires come off of radial tires that have shredded, usually from trucks.  So another 1000 pumps later, and a tube patch, and I was ready to go again.  

This covered bridge was right next to a noisy rail yard which made it difficult to listen for leaking air from the tube.  It also made it difficult to hear the poring rain as I set out. So I stayed put til the downpour stopped. A quarter mile later another downpour but this time I had a trail side shelter to hide in. I think I am jinxed. 

Bruce went on ahead while I tended to my flat and I caught up with him in Hopedale….. at the DG, my favorite store…. and I recall this particular DG from my east to west ride to Minnesota.   That ride was during the craziness of Covid and nine of the DGs would let me use the rest rooms. Crazy because I could stand at the register right next to someone but couldn’t use their rest room where I would be alone. At this particular DG, and several others I’ll admit, I peed out back.  Hey, my prostate can’t help it. 

Oh, what about the itch?  No,  it’s not skeeters, poison ivy, or pin worms……I’m just itching to get home.  I’m gonna push to see if I can get from here to Annapolis in the next six days.  Then I’ll get a ride across the bay bridge where my sister will join me for a two day trip to my back door. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Conotton trail
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
The tree once had a tree swing. Now it lies in the swimming hole.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Anyone recognize this bridge
Heart 3 Comment 0
Bruce on the bridge from hell.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Bruce
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 3,300 miles (5,311 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltTire wires... Sneaky devils! A few decades back on a bike touring site (now defunct "Phred") someone posted advice to carry a wad of cotton in the patch kit, and wipe it back and forth inside the tire when it flats. Fibers catch on the wire making it easy to find, and no blood either.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago