Rolling on the river but not with Tina - Show me MO! - CycleBlaze

September 1, 2020

Rolling on the river but not with Tina

Rainy flat roll along the river to Columbia

Hotel Frederick in Boonville, what a gem!
Heart 1 Comment 0
My bike ready to ride at the Hotel Frederick entrance
Heart 1 Comment 0

Rolling thunder and lightning awoke me from my peaceful sleep before dawn. I rolled over and dreamed it was a figment of my imagination. My alarm went off an hour later. I opened the shutters. Yes, this hotel had shutters! I was greeted by wet streets. 

Unique ceramic tiled grain silos
Heart 1 Comment 0

I set off with my faithful touring companions around 8:30 am heading to Columbia with a less than desirable forecast of 15% chance of rain. The rain held off for the first 10 miles. There was a trail closure with a posted detour at about that 10 mile marker. I set off with my pals onto US Route 40 for a 4-mile detour. It started with a MOFO (Use your imagination.) climb but rewarded me with 2 miles of fast downhill. Rain started to pick up as I approached Rocheport. It quickly turned into a downpour on the 1-mile into the Rocheport trailhead. The crew was drenched like Missouri River rats.  

Hard to capture the tall ledges along the river
Heart 0 Comment 0
Stream under the trail flowing brown and fast after the rain
Heart 0 Comment 0
I like these typical RR trestles
Heart 1 Comment 0

The ride from Rocheport into Columbia was pleasant. It was flat and scenic along the river with tall cliffs to our left. The final 9-miles was on the MKT connector trail into Columbia, our home for the night. Taking the advice from the trail’s Facebook group, I opted to take the trail to the end and pedal a few blocks to Flat Branch Pub and Brewery for lunch with a brewski. The cycle to the hotel was a very nice roll through the Mizzou campus.  

Make Flat Branch Brewing your destination on the MKT
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was a marked change in the trail today. It was flat and paralleled the river to the MKT connector trail. The surface was similar to past days but more groomed. The Katy surface has a sandy base with what appears to be a fine ground stone. When dry, it is a nice smooth roll. When wet, it can become a bit mucky drawing in the tires. Today’s wet conditions made cycling a bit harder but very doable with the low elevation. 

I passed 2 bicycle tourists heading west this morning. Yesterday I passed 2 westbound bicycle tourists. I have seen no other bicycle tourists heading east. I believe the low number of people cycling the trail is due to COVID19. The inns have been relatively empty. Dining options have also been limited. 

COVID19 Observations 

Took off my mask to enjoy a morning coffee in the Hotel Frederick lobby.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The group has been taking virus protection precautions. Masks are worn in public places and social distancing is respected. Half of those on tour are over 60 with some health conditions. We balance a circle of trust with all in our group. Dining and SAG stops puts us in close contact. We observe COVID19 precautions as best we can given the  proximity to each other. 

The businesses, particularly the hotels, have been very conscious of these practices. Every night has seen spotless hotel rooms with virus protection high priority. Dining has been another story. Traveling through rural Missouri, these practices are laxer. It is not uncommon to see patrons with no masks and not practicing social distancing. The staff has been largely wearing masks. This reflects what I see in rural Ohio. 

Tomorrow’s destination is Jefferson City. It is looking like a remote ride. I will still be following the Missouri River. Jefferson City looks to be a nice city with amenities that are common in capital cities. 

Today's route

Heart 0 Comment 0

Follow the tour 

No telegraphs need as we trace Lewis and Clark’s journey into the unexplored. You can just check us out on social media: Cycle Blaze and Instagram with hashtags @tombilcze #showmeMO #katytrail.  

Today's Trivia  

In the early 1800’s Daniel Boone’s sons, Nathan and Daniel Morgan, came upon the salt lick in present-day Howard County, just across the river. Recognizing the value of salt for pioneers, the Boone brothers settled and opened shop, thus the original Boone’s Lick or Boonslick name. The town was formally platted in 1817. The town was a jumping-off point for the Santa Fe Trail.  

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 108 miles (174 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Stephen PeelIt certainly looks beautiful in those parts. I have driven over 10k miles through the Southern States and the West Coast in the USA over 10 weeks with my wife, and we are looking to return for another drive at some point. This is a great site too. Enjoy your rides. Steve.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago